You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes #32 - It's Show and Tell Time

in #writing7 years ago

I found this fascinating! I am not a writer (hahahaha, I now know the difference between blogger and writer), so I had never come across this rule. I have a thing with interesting new knowledge and I read quite a few novels, so thanks to you I'm going to be saying to myself... rule broken/observed repeatedly. I don't think I am happy about this. Oh, and about yesterday's squiggly line. I typed a word today that I had no idea how to spell and had an expectation of the squiggly line which never materialised. Then I felt weird about that.

Sort:  

The show/tell rule is the bane of many a writer's life. Mainly because it is so poorly taught. Just 'do more of this, do less of that.' But if you don't know what you are looking for it can feel overwhelming. Then it is all pure gut feeling - when the writing feels off, but you aren't sure why. That example I used is a classic one. The adverb to 'tell' what a character is feeling, rather than 'showing' so that the reader can see it for themselves and enter the story at a deeper level.

As for the squiggly line, sometimes my word processor just gives up on me and stops showing the red line altogether. That is a scary feeling. Where's my safety net? Even one I complain about.

I really learnt something new today, thanks to you. Jokes aside, that is what I find pushes my buttons these days. I guess you are around my age, and I don't know if this applies to everyone, probably not, but I love NEW. It's increasingly hard to find?

Learning new things is what life is about. I know a lot of people around my age (and some even younger) who have no interest in it. They know what they know and that's all they need to know.

I pity them, there is nothing like the sweet obsession of a new interest.

For real, cuz.

(That's a new street lingo I am trialling. I think I will stop now. Time to find a new new interest)

Street lingo is good. I have an 18 year old daughter. She uses one term(?) I love.
Extra
It refers to a wide variety of things.
"Joshua is being so extra" a new boyfriend who bought aher a nice present
"It's very extra" on checking out someone's dubious outfit
"You really are being extra" when I overreact
I have a best friend the majority of people find intimidating, who is going through a tough (re sports injuries post). I told her people would never even think of sympathising with her as she is very extra.
I love slang!

I like it. The word extra is truly extra. For real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31