NaNoWriMo Day 19: My journey ends early, but happily

in #writing6 years ago


I'm done with NaNoWriMo this year, and I couldn't be happier. I've been carving out time each day to write, and it has been increasingly hard. But still, I did it.

And then things changed.

Finally finished


My original goal was to use NaNoWriMo to finish the second book in a series I'm writing. Then, as I explained in this blog, I discovered I still had a bit to finish in the first.

I can now say that book one is done. I have a full first draft - just a first draft - but it's complete. It comes in just over 40,000 words.

And I'm so excited to get it cleaned up and ready for everyone to see.

Tough decision


Once I finished book one, I had every intention of jumping back into book two (which is about 75% written). And I did for one day.

But then I had to ask myself a question:


Source

What is more important? Winning NaNoWriMo or getting a book published this year?

I'd made a promise to myself to have a Kindle short read published this year. And this year is getting short. There are ten days left in November which could be spent getting my short ready for publication, or writing book two.

I had to keep my promise to myself.

But as I mentioned, I'm not sad about giving up on 50,000 words this month. The words I did get out helped me meet a major milestone in my writing career. I feel more energized and ready to "get it done" than I have in a long time.

Things to share



Source


I've also been keeping a list of things I've learned this month and want to share. But there hasn't been any time to write blogs. That will change moving forward too.
My new focus is this blog, completing the rest of the trilogy, and getting book one ready to publish (after my kindle short).

A big thank you



Source

A big -no HUGE- thank you to the Freewrite House and community on steemit. Everyone there is so talented and encouraging. It's a great place for writers to flourish and I wouldn't have been here without the community. In particular, @mariannewest deserves gold medals for all she does to keep it going. Thank you!

Weekly Winners


I'll still be sponsoring the weekly winners in the November Madness Contest! Don't worry your SBI shares are still up for grabs.

That's it for this last NaNoWriMo update. Now I can enjoy the wonderful writing my fellow freewriters are churning out. You should read some too!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://nightowlwriter.com/2018/11/21/nanowrimo-day-19-my-journey-ends-early-but-happily/

Sort:  

Congratulations to completing your first book and you're well on your way in the second. You're a champion in my book. 🏆 #NovMadFan Bruni is very happy for you. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79