My fellow writers! This is a must read. steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

shortstory thumbnail.jpg
Source

Hello my writing friends!

Here on Steemit we write our hearts out hoping to be noticed by a whale or picked up by @curie. In reality though, we’re mostly scraping for pennies (the crypto equivalent at least).

But I’ve seen some superb fiction writing by many Steemians. Fantastic stuff.

As much angst or self-doubt we have as writers, I think most of us - deep down at least - want to be recognized and read by many people.

I stumbled onto something that could give you that chance. Actually, I may have seen it posted here on Steemit somewhere but it may have been somewhere else too.

Wherever it was, I feel motivated to share it with you in hopes that someone from the writing community here can get the recognition they deserve.

What the hell am I talking about?

It’s a contest of course. But one that offers real money and recognition. You can enter from anywhere in the world and write in any genre.

It’s called The Short Story Project. I don’t want to get into too many details here but I’ll cover a few basic ones you’ll want to know:

  • There is an entry fee of $17 (US dollars) but that’s usual for contests like these.
  • Top prize is $5000! And other good stuff.
  • There are prizes for the top 20 entries too!
  • Word limit is 2500 words
  • Deadline is September 30

Here’s a link to the website:

https://shortstoryproject.com/contest/

Why am I sharing this?

I’m not affiliated with the contest in any way.

I had planned on entering but I’m not sure now. Believe it or not, I can’t find the story I wanted to use. I wrote it about 10ish years ago and at least three computers ago (one of which had a hard drive failure). I’ve scoured my printed copies and all the backups I could find and it isn’t anywhere.

I’m so saddened I lost it I’m not sure I’ll write another. Well, I’ll write more stories. Just maybe not in time for this contest.

But as I said in the beginning, it would be great to see some Steemians get more than a few crypto-cents for their creativity.

Will you enter?

Check out the link below and then share in the comments if you plan on entering so the rest of us can cheer you on!

enter image description here

Need help editing and formatting your blogs? Check out my editing services.

enter image description here

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Pay it forward contest

Support the Steem community by participating in the Pay it Forward Contest!


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, Pay it Forward and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66