Introduction Post contest! 3 sbi shares for the winner

in #writing6 years ago

contest thumbnail.png

Over the last few weeks I've covered a lot of topics on post writing in my classes on the Dynamic Steemians' Discord server. I thought it would be fun to put it all together and see what sort of introduction post everyone could write after having been through the classes.

I'd like to think you can write a pretty darn good one now! And as an incentive to try, 3 shares in sbi are up for grabs to the winner. I may add a second and third prize of sbi shares too, depending on how many entries I get.

So here's your challenge

You've probably already written at least one introduction post, but you can write another one! Just think of all the people that didn't see your first one. Writing another one will give them another chance to "meet" you. But don't go crazy. Too many intro posts in a short space of time will likely get you flagged for abuse.

All you need to do is write an amazing intro post! That's it.

Ok, there are some caveats. The winning post will meet the following criteria - as judged by me:

  1. Has an attention grabbing headline
  2. There is an engaging opening that makes the reader want to keep reading
  3. At least 2 photos that help tell your story
  4. Is formatted for easy reading
  5. Well organized and obviously planned out

Bonus points if you make sure you've put all your commas in the correct places. You can see the summary notes for Session 5 to see why.

How to enter

  1. Write your post
  2. Make sure to use the introduceyourself tag first so everyone sees your great work
  3. Comment on this post and include a link to your entry

That's it! That's all you need to do to enter.

However, since my writing classes and the Dynamic Steemians' Discord is all about helping people, please take the time to read some of your fellow Steemian's entries and comment on their posts too. Share the love!

Important Dates

Start of contest: Monday April 16 12 am Eastern US
End of contest: Sunday April 22 12 pm Eastern US

The Winner will be announced during my live class on the 22nd. You don't need to be present to win, but if you're awake and online please stop by!

Class Notes

If you've missed any of the classes you can see the notes at the following links:

Session 1: Basic writing tips
Session 2: Tools for editing and writing conversationally
Session 3: Writing headlines
Session 4: Writing an intro post
Session 5: Mind mapping, comma usage and Markdown

pen divider

writing class banner.png

If you have any questions about this content, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Dynamic Steemians' Discord!

DS logo

Remember you can post any question at any time. You don't need to wait for a live session.

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except for except where noted. The Dynamic Steemians' banner was thoughtfully provided by @baa.steemit.

Sort:  

Hi @ntowl, I'll participate in your very nice contest!

Thank you for posting the Class Notes links: I missed all but, luckily, I have ten days to study them and do my homework at the best.

See you soon! ;) A big hug!

Hi there @amico. Glad you're here and want to participate. You scared me though when you said 10 days! There's actually 7 days until the contest ends on the 22nd of April. Plenty of time still. Let me know if you have any questions on the material, or drop into the Discord and chat!

I have to sleep more, otherwise my synapses - already reduced by age - doesn't work, LOL!

Thanks for your help offer: I'll not hesitate to contact you on Discord for any doubt I'll have.

People who liked this post also liked:

💬 Projet Milkbox: InstaPost> # Défi Tokens4Pics | | Partagez votre sourire sur Instagram et obtenez des Milks! by @maxwell95

NEED HELP! Art Materials and School Supplies Gift Giving for the children of Sitio Nangalid by @lakawero

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Oh wow, what serendipity to find out about dynamic steemians, posting my intro post 5 days ago and now seeing this contest!

Can't help but submit. Thank you for all the good work you've put in here.

Here's my link:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@kchitrah/who-am-i

I have a sneaking suspicion I might have missed a few commas. It's one of my blind spots in writing I tend to overlook. :) Hope it's not too obvious though. Feel like sitting for an English test in school all over again.

Cheers

Hi, Thanks for posting your entry. I didn't specify that the intro post had to be written after my announcement so I'll consider it valid. Plus it is recent enough. : )

The commas are a bonus so don't worry about that!

Oh, wow! Cool. Thank you. Appreciate it.

I did resteem it i hope that anyone who stops by my page will see it and join in the fun. I'm still very new though....so we'll see.

Cheers. :)

You've had amazing experiences in your life! I see some parallels in mine, but with less moving. My Dad was in the military, but retired when I was 7. Before that I'd moved something like 10 time and been in 7 different schools. But I haven't moved more than a few hours away since.

Your vision and attitude about life are inspiring! I'm excited to see your future writings.

You must be good at packing then! Lol

Wow, 7 schools is rough!

Thank you @ntowl, appreciate your support and encouragement. Xx

Hi @ntowl, I'm just wondering, if I use the introduceyourself tag, will I not get flagged for using that tag? I have seen some posts where they used that tag, and a bot or something sort of flagged that post, because obviously the person has been posting on steemit for a while already, hence the introduceyourself tag should not have been used. I don't know how it works, though, but I will still do it, make an introduction post and use the tag #introduceyourself. I'll see how I go.

Thank you for laying out the rules and guidelines for this contest with such clarity and conciseness. I'm glad to be a member of @dynamicsteemians. You're all amazing!

Hello @evlachsblog. I've been told there is an unwritten rule that if you post too many times in a short period (like 7 days) you might get flagged. So that's why I recommended not doing too many. But if it's been awhile you should be fine.

That said, if you are nervous about the tag then I'm ok if you don't use it

I will use the tag just because it fits the purpose of the blog post, anyway. But thank you, @ntowl, for showing consideration. I really appreciate that.

Great work @ntowl! I cannot wait to see the participant's work that they provide in here! Keep up the amazing work and the initiative to help change this world for the better, you have a destiny in this world for sure that is something amazing!

Thanks for the resteem and encouragment @terminallyill!

Anytime my friend @ntowl :) You are a prodigy and deserve to have your efforts as well as work seen by the world!

Thank you @ntowl for the knowledge you share!

These 3 tests are all excellent slither io and it is difficult to judge which test is the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59