Questions about Writing? I've got answers! Notes for session 1's writing class on DynamicSteemians Discord

in #dynamicsteemians6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail.png

Recently @dynamicrypto invited me to talk about writing on the Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Last night, I answered some questions for a couple hours on the writing-classes channel.

This post is a summary of what people wanted to know, edited for clarity and content (added things I didn’t think of in class):

How do you find topics to write about?

As I see it, you can approach this one of two ways:

  1. You can write about what you know and/or are interested in OR

  2. You can write about topics people seem to want to read.

For me, I usually do the first one. It’s easier, even if I don’t know much about it yet. Having the interest makes it easier and more fun to learn about it, then share what I’ve learned by writing about it.

But, I think many people do the second one. You can look at what categories are trending, and which get the largest payouts. Then try to find something to write about in that category.

If you’re the type that can easily write about different topics you might be able to do the second one well. But otherwise, it’s a risk.

As a reader, a post feels more authentic and genuine if you write something you know about or spend time learning. If you try to jump into a category just because it’s popular you might not get a good reception from the people who read it – and know the topic. Since your reputation is everything on Steemit, it won’t do to get downvoted by people who can tell you’re just jumping on the bandwagon.

At this point, I’m sure some of you are thinking, “But nobody wants to read what I have to say about anything.”

Hogwash!

One thing that’s SUPER important is to not underestimate the value of what you know...just because you know all about some topic doesn’t mean other people know it or know it as well as you. Especially when you’re on a worldwide forum like Steemit (or the Internet). So what if someone has written about it before? You have your own experiences and way of describing what you know. No one else will write it just like you do. And of course, that’s important – make sure you write it!

I should note that when I write for my clients I follow number 2. They have a product or service to sell, I find the questions their potential customers want answered and then write blog posts or web pages that provide them answers (i.e. What people want to read). That works in online marketing – critical to it actually. But on a community site, it’s a difficult path to follow.

How do you write posts that are long enough?

The key to this question is “long enough”. I'm still figuring out what Steemit, or rather Steemians, really want for length. The little research I’ve done indicates that at least 500 words is best most of the time. Though I’ve seen people recommend a minimum of 150 words.

Until I have some more experience on this platform and can provide better data I’ll share the guidelines I use when writing blogs for my clients. Google likes longer lengths, so I aim for an average of 1000 words. Some clients require a minimum of 1200 or 1750 words.

But writing anything is better than not writing at all. So, if you can only post a few hundred words, post it. You’ll get better and better over time as you write more.

As for being able to write longer content, the best way is to just practice doing it. I used to struggle to write 500 words for clients. When they started wanting longer content I adapted. But now, I find it hard to write shorter posts. Practice makes perfect! Or habit anyway.

What about writer’s block?

I have a couple of things I do to fight off writer's block.

The first is that I keep notes on topics I want to write about. I usually use the notes app on my phone, but sometimes I'll use a google doc or piece of paper depending on where I am. I jot down enough about what I was thinking so that I can remember it later.

That is key - write enough so you'll remember. I used to just put down a word or two believing I would remember it all later. But of course, I wouldn't. So, spend 30 seconds to write a couple of sentences, copy and paste a link or a picture or anything that made you think of what to write.

Second, I just refuse to give into writer's block. I just start writing and keep writing until I find myself in a place where I'm able to write what I wanted to write (unless of course, the writing takes me on a different journey - imagination can take you anywhere!)

The idea is you write and keep writing. Write about what you had for lunch, what your niece said to you at the party today, how you hate the weather (though focusing on the weather you want might make it more enjoyable!), your favorite movie, your clothes, or the furniture in the room you're in. Hopefully, that gives you the idea of it - literally write about anything! That will work you through whatever is blocking you.

I have a day job and can’t find the time. It takes me a week to write a post. What can I do?

I'm a single mom of two kids, I take care of my elderly parents, I volunteer for two non-profits, and I run my own business. I'm busy too. Everyone is. As for not having time to write because of a job or just because it takes too long...it's a matter of setting priorities.

If you want to have writing be part of your life - on Steemit or otherwise - take a good look at where you spend your time. Chances are there are choices you're making that you could do differently. How much time did you spend watching TV this week? How much time aimlessly surfing the web, reading emails or Facebook? Everyone needs some downtime but take a hard look at where your time goes and see if it matches up with your priorities.

I spend a lot of time writing, but still only manage to post once a week. What am I doing wrong?

This is the other side of not having enough time. You are spending too much time writing. Longer isn’t always better (see the question above about length). Even if you have a lot to say on a topic, you don’t have to say it all at once.

If you feel you need to write a 4000-word post, maybe consider breaking that into 4 posts of 1000 words each. Or thereabouts. You can post 4 times in a week instead of one that way.

Sometimes I’ll be writing a blog that’s supposed to be 1000 words give or take. But before I know it I’ll hit 1500 words and still not be done. At that point, I’ll stop and ask myself if I’m staying on topic. Are those extra words necessary for the blog? Do I need to keep writing more to make sure the topic is understood?

One of three things will happen:

  • I’ll realize I’m babbling and edit the post down to focus only on the main topic.
  • I’ll realize that what I’m writing is important and related to the main topic, but not critical to it. I take out what is extra and make another blog out of that. Basically, I get an idea for a second post by writing too much for the first one.
  • I’ll realize that I do indeed need more words to make sense of the topic. Depending on what my client wants, I’ll break it into two posts (or three or four) to make a series.

What would you recommend as far as paragraphs and photos needed on an average blog post on Steemit?

You may not realize it but reading online is very fatiguing. The light from a monitor or screen causes eye strain, so how you format your post can play a big part in how many people read it (once they find it).

Use short paragraphs of 4-5 sentences. Break up sections with subheadings using formatting. Make the subhead a larger font and bold – or more easily just use the H2 HTML tag (put a ## for Markdown) and it will look pretty.

But besides being pretty, it also makes the blog easy to scan. A reader can quickly scroll through it and get your main points (if you use the right subheadings) and read the parts they think are interesting. And they are more likely to read the whole post too.

Also, always use an enter space between paragraphs. The “white space” also makes it easier on your eyes to read so it’s less tiring and people will read more.

As for pictures, always use one at the start of the post - preferably one that has some connection with what you're writing about. If you can add a few more in the post do that too. But try to keep them relevant otherwise it will cause a reader to get distracted. And in this day and age if they get distracted they might never get to the bottom of the post where the upvote buttons are!

@dynamicgreetk suggested personalized photos are better than stock photography. I think he’s right about that, but it’s not always possible. At least try to modify your stock photos to make them more personal (provided the license allows modifications). Even just adding words can give the photo more meaning.

There are plenty of free editing tools if you don’t have access to one already. Paint.net (don’t go to this URL though, it’s the name of the program) is very powerful, free, and there’s a ton of tutorials online. It only works on Windows though You can find it at https://www.getpaint.net/. I use PicMonkey when I’m not able to get to my desktop for Photoshop. It’s great for simple editing. And there’s many more – search and I’m sure you’ll find Steemians have written all about them.

Suggestions or things you can share that as a newcomer we should know?

I’m still new here. Not even a month at this point but I am working on a post that includes everything I wish I knew about Steemit before I started posting. I’ve still got a lot to learn, but I’ll get the first version of it out as soon as I can.

purple divider.png

I enjoyed answering questions and welcome anyone to come ask some more!
If you want to join in click on the banner below for the invite to the Discord channel. I’ll be holding live classes a couple of times a week, and I’ll reply to any questions posted outside of those hours. Once I can set a firm class schedule I’ll post it.

dynamic steemians banner.gif

Image: Licensed from Adobe Stock with modifications.

Sort:  

@ntowl has an amazing service in which anyone wishing to be successful writing on this platform need to incorporate in their work.

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nightowl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is great. I've been able to learn some writing tips. Thanks once again @ntowl

I'm really thinking on a way to put my writing together. I love challenges like this and I hope I can write something better than I used to via the help of your class notes... @ntowl. akeenze13.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30