How *not* writing my first draft in 30 days helped me prepare for NaNoWriMo

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


A couple days ago I shared my general plan and reflections on the upcoming NaNoWriMo event and @freewritehouse’s November Madness challenge.

In this post I’ll share a bit of the technical details of my setup.

Back in time…


Somewhere in 2011, maybe a little earlier, I started writing out Unity. That’s the name of the series (there’ll be subtitles too). I just used Word and did a few writing workshops using the beginning of the story as my focus.

I made progress, but not enough. The story was pounding in my mind to be written, but I didn’t have a ton of time. So I went out and got Karen S. Wiesner’s First Draft in 30 Days. Funny how I thought I could actually write it in 30 days using that book. Don’t get me wrong, the book is awesome, but it isn’t quick. At least it wasn’t for me.

Thirty days came and went without a first draft. But what I did have were tools and structure. And I know if I could have put the time in, it could have been done quite quickly. But as I said, I didn’t have the time (so I told myself). Also, I found that while I loved what the book taught me, I’m not the sort to write in such an organized way. It had been about 7-8 years since the story began for me so I knew it all intimately, but the characters were still making decisions on some key points. I wanted to write and let them tell me what happened.

A few months later, we moved. I packed up the materials I had printed and written by hand. And I forgot about the words I had written on my computer.

Then came 2012 and the spark of the story had found its way into my consciousness again. It demanded to be written. So I pulled out all the papers and went searching for the Word documents. I transferred all the hand-written material into the computer and when November came, I let the story out. I “won” that year by reaching 50k words, but I knew there was serious work to do before letting anyone read it. Then my life, which had been rocky, turned into an earthquake. Once again the story went into hiding.

Camp NaNoWriMo


You can read about my resurrection of the story in my Camp NaNoWriMo posts beginning with Day 1.

I almost succeed in getting the first part of the story complete. But first I moved everything into Scrivener (which I talk about in the rest of the Camp posts as well).

What’s happening now


At the end of Camp, I was pretty organized. I have every scene (that I know of now) outlined using one tool from Wisner’s book. And each scene was given its own spot in the Scrivener manuscript. Here’s where it stands now, with about two weeks to go before the madness begins.

Example Scrivener chapter
(Did I blur things? Yes, I did. I don’t want any peeksies)

 

You can see on the left all the scenes laid out in chapters (yes my numbering is all over the place because I was moving things around). For book one, everything is written except for the last few chapters. For all the book two chapters, I have filled out the form you see on the right.

Some have more info than others but for every chapter, I know who is in it and what the basic events are. My characters can still change their minds - I’m ok with that. But at this point they’ll only adjust details, they like where it’s all going. That’s what they’re telling me, anyway.

The biggest issue I’m having is NOT writing it now. I’m working to finish the first installment of a Kindle Short series before November begins. I need to be working on that instead of prepping for November...but the story calls me and sometimes I can’t resist.

I’m excited to finally publish some of my fiction. It’s another story that has been begging to be written too. But maybe it’s because I’m so grateful to have so many fellow writers on this November’s journey, I just can’t wait to start!

There’s still time to join the madness!


If you’re at interested in challenging yourself and sharing the experience with some really cool people I encourage you to immediately go read @freewritehouse’s post on how to sign up and the potential prizes up for grabs.

What are you waiting for?

Go!


 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://nightowlwriter.com/2018/10/20/how-not-writing-my-first-draft-in-30-days-helped-me-prepare-for-nanowrimo/

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9938234366090023
This post was voted: 95.26%

@ntowl, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Yes, what is everyone waiting for?!

I expect things will chop and change with my characters too. And my numbering and organization is a mess, so I’m trying my best to start with some semblance of order. :)

oh, you are so organized!!

But I feel so disorganized! Just too much juggling. I'm usually with @felt.buzz and revel in the freedom, but I just can't at the moment - too much to do and I forget important things when I don't try to stay organized.

Only a week to go!

I hear you!! I am trying to get my life organized. Every aspect of it calls me to spend all day with it - but if I do, everything else falls apart... We shall figure this out LOL

I thought I'd come be inspired
But now I am super nervous
hahaha
15 years in the making?
This year you will make it happen
I am rooting for you @ntowl :D

thank you @kaerpediem! I'm hoping we all do it!

I won't lie
I am getting a little nervous
Make that a lot nervous
Fingers crossed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45