You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You NEED to STOP What You're Doing and READ This Right Now. I'm Going to Make You Famous on Steemit. Yes You!

in #writing7 years ago

Ok, I have mixed feelings about this. Which mostly has to do with words - I think. But let's see.
I love collaborative projects, especially when it's completely honest that collaboration leads to a shared product and shared value and profits. Collaboration is not easy. Or at least, maybe they're easier in certain areas than in others. I myself am a philosopher by profession. Someone here already replied that people have niches, well, philosophy is definitely a niche here on steemit. And I don't mean philosophy as loose reflections on life, freethinking about certain things you have encountered - those are valuable too - but it's not the systematic study of meaning, life and reality that I mean. Philosophy as such is one of the most valuable commodities, in my opinion of course. And yes, it's not easy to find the right tone, to get yourself out there and be seen. At least, that's how it works for me. So it makes sense to partner up with a 'marketing' person who thinks about that stuff.

But to me, marketing is kind of the most opposite you can get to philosophy. Not with regard to how valuable it is, marketing done right is extremely valuable. But their tools, their methods. It's the difference between a long and windy thought that buildings on thousands of years of hard work and scholarship, versus the well-researched slogan. This is a metaphor, but also not really a metaphor.

So, I'd like to hear more about that. How you see how those two approaches, could even work together. I don't want to sell philosophy short. When I give up the core of its value, I might as well not do philosophy. So, how does your marketing approach work for something that is not meant to be sold?

Sort:  

And I'm sorry this is not one of those over-exciting replies. I've been on Steemit only one month so far, but those already make me sad.

Thanks for your thoughtful reply. I'm a marketing person because that's how you build audience,but I'm probably closer to a philosopher than a marketer. What I'm looking to do, is work with writers to create new work. It would probably be fiction. If you read the approach James Patterson uses, that's likely what I'd do. Or something similar. Anyway, here's something else that might help. Dolphinschool Bootcamp signups are now open! Click this link!

Thanks for your reply. I think I'll pass this time, at least with regard to the Dolphinschool. Focussing that much on marketing would make me too depressed.

I understand. Well check out the posts. It's not so much about marketing as you might think. It's more about learning steemit.

I'm finally setting up the co-authoring program, starting today! Check it out! I hope I can count on your upvote or resteem! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82