Creative Writing Challenge - Task #7 -steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


       


This is my entry for @steemfluencer's Creative Writing Challenge - Task #7 - The Objects

The Challenge

Take a look at the objects below and write a story with these objects based on a predefined idea.

Here's a list of the predefined ideas:

  • Without excuses: write about someone who never gave up until he has achieved a certain goal.
  • Old memories: a fictional essay about someone who's sharing his most exciting story from his youth.
  • A Tree of Life: a non-fictional essay about life, compromises and self-awareness.

I chose 'Without Excuses'.


Sort:  

Thank you.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow, so bleak. I really love your imagery in this, it's like reading poetry.

Thanks for reading :)

That ending... I wasn't ready and now I miss a stranger I've never met, feel the loss of a brother, and miss the person he could have been had he chosen to live.

Thank you for reading. It made me sad when I wrote it too. It's hard to create something and destroy something so quickly, but that's kind of unavoidable in a short story.

I hope your next story they all live and skip away into the forest of tomorrow. Living as long as a dream and loving life to the fullest

This is brilliant.

An entire dying universe contained in one human soul.

Thank you for the comment. That is almost exactly the impression I was going for :)

What an effective use of that quote. I physically winced at the ending. Nicely done!

Thank you for reading! I winced a bit when writing it too.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Wow! Didn't see that coming. A few tears welling up as proof...

Thanks. I felt a little (a lot?) of that when I was writing it too. Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43