Creative Writing Challenge Task #1: "What did we look like?”

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


This is my entry for the Creative Writing Challenge Task #1

Sponsored by: @steemfluence
More info: https://steemit.com/writing/@steemfluencer/the-creative-writing-challenge-task-1

The Rules of the Challenge:

1). Go to your home library. Pick a random shelf. Take the 7-th book. Open page number 7. Find the 7-th sentence and write a short poem OR a short essay based on what you have read in the sentence. Don’t forget to take a snapshot of the sentence which triggered your creativity to write the post. Include the snapshot at the beginning of your post.







Sort:  

Wow, so bleak! The third-to-last stanza really struck me as sad.

But the whole thing really makes you think, "What do I look like?" I think we all could benefit from seeing ourselves with someone else's eyes, and see what needs to be changed.

That's a good point. We all move in our little circles doing our little things for little reasons, but have no perspective on ourselves. Standing back a long ways might be the only way to really see.

Wow, this is a brilliant poem, coming from such a simple sentence. I really enjoyed reading this. I also like the typography and how it forms a dialogue. I think this poem comments really well on how self-absorbed our society is.

Thank you! I'm glad you recognized there was a purpose to the structure :)

Wonderful poem @negativer! You've finished your first task as a champion! :)
I think I should edit the table with all the entries from the first task and include the name of the book as well.

Thanks! I'm looking forward to Task #2!

On a side note, who knew we had so many Anne Rice books LOL! I swear we read a lot of other stuff too! :)

I like the structure. I read it as though it is a conversation between conscious and subconscious and the structure kind of demands that.

Pretty much spot on with my intent. It's a bit of a debate between my observational conscious mind and the more idealistic subconscious. Thanks for reading!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Amazingly well-written, negativer! I thought I was reading a quote from an old poem written by Milton or Keats, but then when I read about the case of beer, that dispelled that. Very somber and reflective. A melancholy picture of the human condition. This is how I feel about myself sometimes even as a Christian, although I am not all of those people, but sometimes I am some of them, and that is bad enough. When I get shrouded in darkness over my own desperate condition, all I can do is drown in the despair or reach out to God for relief, like the Psalmists. The light will arise in the darkness, eventually. That's amazing how you took that one sentence and ran with it. Do more of this kind of writing--you are very, very good at it!

Thanks for the comments! Sometimes there is a daily battle with one's own idealism when you see how you think things SHOULD be, confronted with what your eyes constantly tell you about how things ARE, and how wide that span really is. It's hard not to eventually develop an unhealthy cynicism.

Right on. That's why you have to keep reaching out for the light. I've found in my own experience in the middle of darkness, though prayer, Bible reading, and much reflection and yearning for illumination, that the Light is a person, Jesus Christ, who said "I am the Light of the World." There is a verse in Romans 4:17 that brought me much encouragement when I felt grieved by my sin. It says, "...God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did..." I realized, although I was a sinner, God called me, "righteous" through Christ. In tears of joy, I wrote that down in my Bible, and I realized this is who I am in Christ! There is great power in being given a name, an identity. God created the earth out of nothing. He recreates us--transforms us into His people by essentially saying, "You're forgiven. You're righteous through what I did." And being given this new identity, it begins to create a desire in us to live like it. This story here illustrates what I mean in a different way. (http://kenhardman.com/Ten-Cow_Wife.html)

Totally blown away by the power of your words in this poem. The structure makes it so well put together. Upped and Steemed

Thank you! I appreciate your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64