Two Months gone

in #writing7 years ago

enter image description here


Two Months Gone

I had a set writing schedule once. Back in the days long gone. Okay, two months back. Seems a long time since then now though. I had a lot of time with my thoughts, and spare time to communicate them. So I did. And I am glad that I did, as it helped me develop some writing skills. And experience some healing along the way. But I have been very busy for some time now, settling in, and exploring, and just getting used to my new environs.


The Rain in Spain

It was hot when I first got to Spain. I have been here twice now, and spent a total of 6 months here. And it has been relentlessly hot and sunny most of that time. But about a month ago I experienced my first rainy Spanish day. And did it rain. The weather here doesn't leave you with any uncertainties. When it's hot it's hot. And when it rains, it does that also with much conviction.

But then that passes, and the next day it's sunny again. Cooler, given the time of year, but still quite warm. I am enjoying the weather here. I check the weather app on my phone to see what is happening back in Melbourne, and even now, one month from their summer, its cold. Incremental rains every day – the rains I am used to, enough to annoy you, but not much more than that – and even snow in the hills. It's actually warmer here, one month out from winter, than they are having. But that is Melbourne for you. The weather there is schizophrenic, and it seems to affect the moods of the inhabitants.

After the rain
After my first Spanish rain storm - view outside my house

Perhaps that is why the Spanish people are so laid back (something that is said about Australians, except Australia is a very big place, and they simply are not all like that). The weather is so agreeable. Well to me it is. Here on the coast anyway. Inland is different. And Madrid in the middle of summer is supposed to be like living in an oven. Which is why they all holiday on the coast.


Finding My Schedule

I have had a number of experiences here, ones worth writing about. I hope to cover them in the days and weeks to come. Still trying to get a writing schedule happening. But I am busy, and doing well here, and keep forgetting to set time aside. I have just gotten my Kindle out of packing, so now I am reading and catching up on many good stories. And coincidentally, my own story ideas are starting to thaw out, and come to life. Funny how that happens.

Anyway, just thought I'd check in, and say hello. I miss interacting with the wonderful friends I have made here, but please know I haven't vanished, and my health is good. I even remember to smile from time to time (just not those big fake happy smily smiles – my ones are subtle little Spanish ones, fed by tapas and cervezas).

Hasta luego, amigos.



All images are my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

#@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Blasphemous
Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves

Songlines - Short stories inspired by songs.

When the Levee Breaks
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
It's So Easy

Sort:  

Glad to hear that you're doing well, mate! Happy that you're smiling in a non-Happy Smiley People kind of way haha! I've started trying to do my own version of your Notes and have given you a shoutout on the first one :) Way harder to do than I imagined!

But, the more important question is: did it stay mainly on the plain?

Doing a post everyday seems so much harder now than when I actually did do it. But I do remember enjoying the experience, so one thing is to make sure it's not a chore, but a worthwhile experience. Hopefully I can get back to something like that again. For you also.

As for the rain in Spain, yes it must fall mainly on the Plain, because it hardly falls on the coast.There's truth in these old sayings it would seem.

Right? I realized the same thing after I did all those FreeWrites way back. It's was harder now than in retrospect. I do try to remind myself of that, talking about writing not being a chore. Let's just try to stick with whenever we have something worthwhile to post and not to a schedule. I think it's much better in terms of sustainability and quality.

Sometimes it is more important to live and experience things while you have the chance. The writing can come in a quieter time.

I agree, and I have been doing lots of that lately. Perhaps things are starting to settle just a bit now. We'll see. Whether now, or at a later date, I will put my thoughts into words and share.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I am happy for you, nothing more awesome than a subtle food fed smile :)

Thank you. Spanish food is very fresh and healthy. You can get a lot of fatty western foods here, but why bother, when the Mediterranean style food is all around me? Perhaps I have Spanish genetics somewhere in me?

I think our bodies can recognise what is good for them. Olive oil, olives, feta cheese, tomatoes, wine...count me in!

Glad to hear things are going well in Spain! Looking forward to reading about your experiences there as you get them down.

Thank you. Things are slowly coming together. Trying to allocate time to Steemit and get back into how things were. New experiences and all.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 17.0% @roomservice upgoat, thanks to @naquoya
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @naquoya to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75