Sort:  

It has been a LONG time since I read Castaneda, but as a first step, he stressed executing a simple command, specifically, looking at your hands. As a second step, he emphasized identifying an anomalous object in a dream, focusing on it, and then transitioning to a new dream while retaining lucidity.

I do not want this to seem like I am endorsing Castaneda. There were a lot of things about him that were very sketchy.

Castaneda's descriptions of further steps in lucid dreaming get VERY far out, and it is far from clear that what he was describing corresponded either to his actual experiences or to what is the actual potential as lucid dreaming as some kind of tool.

For me, lucidly dreaming regularly came about from what you mentioned already: regular reminders throughout the day by asking, "Am I dreaming?"

I do not pursue lucid dreaming at the moment.

Thank you for the detailed response. I have heard good and bad about Castaneda so I understand. I have not read his material. I have never managed to lucid dream so I was curious. I will try the technique mentioned, see what happens :)

Sorry to be a downer... I do NOT strongly suggest seeking lucid dreaming unless you are strongly aware of why you are doing so. I do not mean that in a condescending way. It is more that I have met more than a few people who seek something like that as some kind clear path to... Well... To what?

I do not want to seem like I am endorsing that as some kind of concrete direction for fulfilling some kind of goal.

Buyer beware!!!

I hear you. I would have looked into it further before attempting anything. But thanks for the heads up. It goes on the list of curios, but I would need to read up more indepth before I went any further with it. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54