Mystery on the train - Original short story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Mystery on the train
(Original story by @nameislv)


train.jpg

It happened five or six years ago. I lived in the capital all alone and met with my family and some of my old friends approximately twice a year for different holidays. That time was going to be the same. Family get-togethers and the stuff like that. I couldn’t say I was looking forward to it so much.

It was winter time and soon in two days all people all over the world would celebrate Christmas Eve.
I was standing at the railway station with a ticket in my hand that I had already bought at the ticket office and I was only waiting for my train to come. Finally it arrived, but 5 minute late.

I looked around and understood that this time the train wouldn’t be overcrowded. I could see people nearby and the usual holiday cheer written on their faces. I got sad because I didn’t share the feeling, I didn’t succeed much that year and uneasiness settled in my stomach.

Then I saw a man on the platform with a little suitcase in his right hand. I don’t remember now what exactly drew my attention but something seemed to be odd. Maybe it was his cold eyes and a look tough like a stone. I noticed that he wasn’t happy as the others were. But as soon as the train arrived I threw this thought far away.

I found my compartment and noted with a pleasure that it was comfortable enough to spend a night. I put my bag on the lower bed and tried if it was soft.
There wasn’t anyone else in this compartment and I could relax. I hoped nobody would be my neighbor. But soon enough I was disappointed when someone opened the sliding door.

The man I had seen on the station appeared in the doorway. He threw a look onto my side and I turned into ice under the pressure of his cold eyes. I was paralyzed, I couldn’t make a move and I hardly nodded when he asked me if I don’t mind him to walk in.
I had a day and a night traveling. That day I read a book, went to the restaurant ant got back to the reading again. It’s necessary to add a few words about the book I was reading. It was about a werewolf.
My neighbor was silent all day. I didn’t try to talk to him. I realized it would be useless from the first moment I saw him and anyway I wasn’t in the mood too.


train mystery.jpg

It was deep evening and the moon was about to go up. I felt cold and covered myself with a blanket all the way down to my feet. I was surprised to find my neighbor being nervous. He looked at the window every minute but I doubted he enjoyed the view of the majestic mountains outside especially when they were not seen in the darkness.

When I got tired I fell asleep. Later something woke me up and when I opened my eyes I saw a whole moon elevating in the night sky outside the window. In the dim light I saw that my neighbor was absent on the place he was supposed to be sleeping. He never came within next two hours.


full moon2.jpg

I got up and examined his bed. I found something on his blanket. It was a flock of fur.
I grew pale. I felt my blood stopped its circulating. I could swear that moment I heard wolf’s howling.
I had to do something and I informed the conductor that a person was missing for two or three hours.

In the morning when I woke up I found my neighbor safe and sound sitting near the window as if nothing happened.
Leaving the train I couldn’t help asking the ticket inspector where my neighbor had spent the night. He answered that they found him in a luggage carriage. The man worried about his dog and couldn’t leave him because it was the dog’s first time traveling by train.


dogs footprints.jpg

Thank you very much for reading my story! I wrote it for my English class a few years back. English is not my native language, so if you've found some mistakes I can only apologize:)
Please, leave your comments below, I would really love to know what you think!

Sort:  

Great story! I thought a werewolf would tear him up at the end or the hero himself would turn out to be a werewolf! It is a pity that your post is unpopular(

your ideas are cool) maybe next time I'll go with that twist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56