This Strange Process of Writing - Part 3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

There is this strange fascination with the tools writers use to create their stories. Despite having two laptops, two cell phones, a tablet, and a desktop, I'm still an old-fashioned writer at heart. So, without further ado, I present to you my primary writing tools:

A simple pen and piece of paper are often my best writing tools, and where I get most of my early work done. My overall process generally goes like this:

  1. Consider and decide on a premise for the story;
  2. Let it sit in my brain and percolate for a while as the story takes shape;
  3. Decide on the overall arc of the story;
  4. Write a draft by hand;
  5. Write a second draft in MS Word, or (more often now) google docs;
  6. Perform a final edit and publish to my preferred format...usually steemit now!

Writing a draft by hand means that I can prove copyright if it ever becomes an issue, and that I can write anywhere and everywhere.

My novel is still in progress but I'm focusing on some world building so that I can give real life and depth to settings and characters.

More short stories are on the way, the upcoming ones are all world building stories based in the same world as my novel!

Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83