The Girl Who Didn’t Know

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Need your opinions. What do you think would improve this story?

The Girl Who Didn’t Know

I knew a girl once who never really paid much attention. She never spoke up; she never spoke out. To be honest, I don’t think I ever even heard her voice. She never looked up from her hands, which she kept clenched in her lap, her left thumb rubbing her right palm vigorously enough to take skin off. She never noticed that I looked at her.

I knew a girl who never seemed to smile. She walked down the halls with her ebony hair draped carefully over her face. She thought she could hide her tears as easily as that. Her earbuds hung from her ears, but not for the sake of music. They were for the whispers that were heard each time she glided down the hallway. Her textbooks were kept close to her chest, as if to protect herself from the inconspicuous points and giggles of other students. She never noticed when I told them to stop.

I knew a girl a long time ago and, despite her long sleeves, I always saw the cuts. Sometimes she would even pick at them until they bled again. The worst part of it is when she actually seemed satisfied with the blood, with the pain. It was the only time she seemed happy. And she never noticed how much it hurt me.

When the girl I knew finally died, no one seemed to miss her. There were even whispers saying she was just some filthy whore who deserved what she got. They never knew her like I did. They never knew her like I did. They never knew how alive she felt as I wrapped my fingers around her neck. I remember gently brushing her hair out of her face as I held her in my arms. Her eyes stared up at me blankly, the brilliance of her sky blue irises shining in the moonlight.

I remember how frightened she looked, how much she struggled. I knew she was uncomfortable but that was alright. This was happening for a reason. In my heart, I understood that I was helping her. If only she had known how much I loved her.


Source


Please do not forget to drop your opinion. Thanks

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-10

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept. Thanks

Whoa! My kind of dark right there. Love this!

I think she has secret thoughts that she cannot share with anyone. password game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70