Writing Or Typing?

in #writing5 years ago


Image Source - Pixabay

I have always loved words and the creative content that can be produced via words. I have also always enjoyed putting words together in stories and narrations etcetera. I, however, made a huge realization today; I do not enjoy writing on paper at all. Today I had to assist one of my students to write a letter by hand. She is 66 years old and seems to be losing her eyesight gradually to some sort of eye defect. We met at a business hub and she sought me out for help when she discovered that she had left her spectacles at home.

I was quick to rush to her aid and began to write with enthusiasm as she dictated. After 5 minutes of copious writing, my wrists began to ache and my fingers kept getting sweaty. I had to stop frequently to wipe the moisture against my jeans. After about 10 minutes, I began to regret my quick and unhesitant acceptance of the task. There were a number of young people around who could have carried out the task probably without issues but there I was struggling with the pen and paper, hoping we were almost done. We finished after about 15 minutes but I must confess, it was the longest, unhappiest 15 minutes I have spent in a looooong time.

I remember heaving such a huge sigh of relief when she said we were done, that even she had to laugh. She then proceeded to call me lazy, saying with the audacity only old people have, that I have been spoilt by all the typing on my phone and laptop. I could do nothing but smile at her when all I really wanted to do was roll my eyes and tell her I was never gonna help her again! Lol. With the benefit of hindsight though, I think she was right. I enjoy typing so much and my fingers fly over the keys with ease but I find actual writing with pen and paper rather arduous. Gosh! Have I really been spoilt by my devices??

Cheers and thanks for reading!!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17