CHRONICLES OF A MEDICAL STUDENT

in #writing6 years ago

(PART 1 OF 4)
I never wanted to study medicine. I didn't like the course because I hated reading. My love for Mathematics and anything calculation was so intense that as at Primary 5, I could solve questions in an SS2 maths textbook just by understanding the formula.
Right from my JS1, I knew I was gonna bag in distinctions in Mathematics and her sisters... After representing my school in JS3 at Cowbell Maths competition but failing to reach the finals, I prepared earnestly for the senior contest. But sadly for me, In SS2 my principal refused us participating (something that still pains me till date cos I was so ready)
So you see, all my life I had loved mathematics and anything related to calculations, and I hated anything that required reading (like biology)...
Now it was time to decide what course to study in the university. Mum and dad said I should go for Medicine and Surgery. Hian! Medicine and Surgery kwa?, I tried my best to explain my love for calculations and why I shouldn't go for Medicine. But my many words were to no avail, mum and dad prevailed (Nigerian system for you).
So I bought the UTME (JAMB) form and applied for Med&Surg at the University of Ibadan. With my heart not really into the course I prepared shabbily for the exam. I scored low so I couldn't meet up with the cutoff mark for the oral POST-UTME. That was how I lost out in my first trial for admission.
Realizing how serious my parents were about my studying Medicine (something I'm now most thankful for), I started preparations for the next JAMB exam in time.
Understanding my deficiencies in biology & English I decided to give more attention to studying them. I studied the past questions from 1978-2005 for more than 7 times back to back..
With such level of preparation, it wasn't surprising to see the good score I had that year. I qualified for the POST-UTME at UNILAG, which I wrote & scored well and eagerly expected my admission into Medicine and Surgery.
First and second list came out, My name wasn't on the admission list. With confidence in the score I had, I was hopeful I'll be admitted so I started attending lectures. The final list came out, my name wasn't still on the admission list...
I was so heart broken that day & I cried almost all night, especially because of how much effort I put into getting that admission & I was kinda hurt because I felt I lost out cos of Catchment area palava (Na wa o, Nigeria). By morning, Dad made a call to UNIPORT (he's an alumni) and was told by his friend to get the form for Basic studies for me...
And off we were to UNIPORT the following day...

To be continued...

Sort:  

Congratulations @mossydaro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51