(Of) let me breathe for a minute.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


source: "Pity", William Blake, 1795


---

(of) let me breathe for a minute

---

I go missing for weeks at a time, both to myself and the outside world, in paralysis I stare at the ceiling unable or unwilling or its genuinely difficult to distinguish but stare at the ceiling continuing cast in concrete I stare silent sowing seeds of serdition.

It's as though the breath leaves me - not so much that I "can't breathe" - I do not choke for air. But rather as though I was simply plucked and placed within outer space to subsist until I return to O2 by some cosmic or chemical push or pull of a sort.

During some of this time I am unfortunately intermittently conscious, in both slightly varying definitions of the term to slightly varying degrees. Dissociation rules these brief lapses in rest - time seems warped, as does my face, both of these perceptions reflecting reality in my case. Whose face is this? Whose life, whose path, whose time, whose decisions - motherfucker they're mine (guaranteed to be fucked). Perhaps there is some form of mercy to be found in this life, in that unused (unusable, same thing) time moves slower and imprints such a visceral feeling of waste in the soul even the weakest are stirred to some final push (until the final push has finally become final I presume), but if the only thing stirring is the catheter bag or some such they have the rather comforting and I've always thought, merciful end of death awaiting them. I've come to view death, that is to say death and not whatever indignities or horrors precede it, isn't some violent pulling away of consciousness from the material realm but rather more of a return home, each soul being a unique bottling of some eternal essence, the bottle possessing whatever quirks or whims possessed the glass blower at the time of creation, simply being poured back into the vast, warm ocean of... whatever. These are passing whims of thought, not firm convictions as I have absolutely nothing that would indicate the above to be anywhere even vaguely near the truth. Might not even be warm.

This bottle still has some potential however, a fixer upper but I intend to sell my soul high.

---

of

---

I decided to make any of the stream-of-consciousness diary-entry-esque shit fall under the "Of" title. I know I'm overdue to deliver something of a little more substance but I still enjoy writing these.


Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hello msp3k!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Great post

Awesome post... Kudos

Nice post...dont forget to upvote my post

<3

living is kinda hard when you think about it :) ...

I certainly have a tendency to consciously or subconsciously make it so yep lol

wonderful post I love your way of writing...

Good to have you back to the platform, brah

This post has received a 5.67% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @dometech.

You got a 11.13% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @mitthradiumn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85