You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another letter to Amanda.

in #writing5 years ago

I don't know if it's possible to have these same thoughts and feelings towards someone as you've laid out here..., this is divine, I want to say exactly all this to someone whose made me feel this way too, but I've held back for so long, I've held back for so long because shes married now, so even if im feeling these things I just keep suppressing it. I've come to terms with her relationship status a long time ago, but what I had with her was magical, I don't even keep in touch with her anymore, but I want to tell her this, I want to tell her all of this. Do you think I should? This write up has consumed me.

I know I indicated my interest in joining the IFC but im still yet to submit any post, I know its said we could post anything we liked to write about, truth is I want to use those topics given and I have to do some research, but my timing does'nt do too well here, electricity is a huge disturbance for me, nevertheless, I'm still on it and appreciate the fact that you told me about it, I hope it becomes what you dream of it to be in the nearest future.

And thanks for bearing your heart like this. You're not alone.

Cheers

Sort:  

this is divine, I want to say exactly all this to someone whose made me feel this way too, but I've held back for so long, I've held back for so long because shes married now, so even if im feeling these things I just keep suppressing it. I've come to terms with her relationship status a long time ago, but what I had with her was magical, I don't even keep in touch with her anymore, but I want to tell her this, I want to tell her all of this. Do you think I should?

Thanks for the feedback, I was touched by your response in numerous ways. I can't answer the question for you that you asked as that is only something you can decide for yourself. However.. I can offer some opinions and thoughts.

I think it's really important to express yourself and to say things you want to say rather than regretting it and wishing you would have said it later on, HOWEVER.. It's possible that you telling this person such things could conflict with their current relationship in unexpected or problematic ways, so that is something you must figure out if it's worth it to you to potentially create feelings in them after they are now married with someone else.

I would also say that I've experienced something SOMEWHAT similar with another woman I fell for except it wasn't as deep because I felt like she broke my trust and it was difficult for me to fully forgive her and I was only recently able to do that, she's engaged to someone else now and even though she broke my heart and my trust I told her that she meant a lot to me and explained the ways in which she enriched my life and I felt like it was a good thing to do that. I personally would rather speak my truth than worry about how that might effect her current relationship because I'm a very outspoken person and.. I think it's important to speak your truth.

Though as I said I can't personally try to answer your question or suggest what you should do because that is not my place to do so, you must weigh the different factors in your mind and decide what you think is best. Whether you do or don't I wish you luck though, based on reading some of your other poetry and thoughts it sounds like you are very similar in your thoughts about romance and love and I think it's great you can hold so much compassion and care for someone who has seemingly left you behind. I think that is very admirable and to me that is a form of "true love" because they can no longer really in a "further" sense benefit your life more than they already have since they have moved on and are with someone else, thus your motives are about as pure as they can be since you care so much about them even though they can't really do anything for you and have moved on with someone else. I think that's beautiful even though I'm sure it hurts a lot as it does with me as well.

In regards to the IFC, no worries. I'm glad you considered it and we just started round 7 out of a planned 20 for this season, so you still have plenty of time left to try! We're not even half way through yet and you only need to score 1 point to make it to the finals to get a chance at the grand prize.
I just started a new round today which is a sort of poetry word game which is really easy in my opinion that you might be interested in trying since it seems like you enjoy language so much as well! But if you're not able to for whatever reason there will still be like 13 more opportunities this season. :) I hope you'll be able to enter at least once though I understand if you don't for whatever reason.

And thanks for bearing your heart like this. You're not alone.

You're welcome. Thank you as well for the encouragement in regards to the IFC dream and also by letting me know I'm not alone. I appreciate that! All the best to you mistakili.

Thank you because your post spurred in me the courage that made me feel better,.. I expressed as much in my post here, I did tell her, and I loved that I did. https://busy.org/@mistakili/gratitude

Yess Poetry! Stoked, thanks.

Another letter to Amanda remains one of my best posts here...

You're welcome, thank you for sharing your experience and I'm happy to hear that our interaction has had such a positive outcome for you! That's awesome that you feel better and it just goes to show that you never know how what you share might effect someone else.. Just like my letter here reached you in a certain way, maybe what you shared with your previous lover will have a very meaningful effect on her as well. And just any given piece of poetry or personal stories or artwork may ripple out in ways we could never predict and touch countless lives, or just one. And even if it touches just one person, then I think that makes it well worth it. Even if it touches no one, at least we tried. <3 And I think that's important as well cause if we try enough we will likely grow ourselves and eventually reach others as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39