My Least Favorite Word

in #writing7 years ago

"Busy"

The way that millions of people live right next to each other and make no new friends is this word. It is a rupture, a void, an infectious nothing spreading through the remaining functioning parts of society.

For many years I have structured my life in such a way that I don't fall prey to such diseased thinking, that all my time has to be planned out, that there must be a long line of people denied entry into my life.

It's just the cost of doing business. Imagine that, busy-ness is the cost of doing business. A tautology at the core of society's ruin, who would have thought?

A person who can make x0,000 a year can simply live the way they want, and most of those people choose not to live in a communal housing coop. Once you have your own four walls and bathroom, you can check out of day to day greeting of strangers or leading and organization towards positive change.

Further, I believe but cannot prove that it is a tactic used by what are known as 'frenemies'(read: enemies) to convey status, condescension and distaste.

As LCD Soundsystem sings in "Pow, Pow, Pow" , "Really, if you're honest with yourself, how much time do you waste every day?"

I, personally, have reached out to thousands of people who are too busy to listen to my songs, my stories, my comedy, read my blog, follow that link, watch my video. Thousands upon thousands of people who simply won't even consider I exist or that my art is even real, because they are too busy. They only have time for the best of the best.

I think that when people kill themselves, in their last moments when they think of who they could reach out to, they say 'No, they are too busy' and then do the dead.

The word busy kills people.

Sure, to get things done you have to show up and follow a schedule. But if all your life is scheduled, if it is all on a 5 year plan and you have no need for new friends, or they must all come from some club, wow, you will be easily replaced by a robot.

This is what I don't know. It was once written by some conservative clown that the American mind was closed, this was in the 1980's. This was before Nirvana, or even the internet itself. What a joke.

Aubrey DeGrey says in one of my favorite documentaries that he will never tire of 'punting', just drinking beer and piloting a gondola around town, seeing what might happen. Implied of course, you might meet some strangers and have a conversation, at the least.

What if what is happening now, due to the encroaching police state, difficulty of finding information, and general warlike anything can happen atmosphere that as one of my other forwarded posts mentioned creates a 'battered citizen syndrome" which supports the powerful theories of Adam Curtis in Hypernormalization.

It is the intent of the powerful to manipulate 'the masses' into [guess what] giving them more power. They have mass media at their disposal and they spout only distraction and nonsense written by the highest bidder.

This is why it is imperative that anyone who realizes this help everyone they know exit the centralized networks of confusion that thrive on people desperate to complete 5 year plans, and help build ones that support the better parts of human nature.

Openness, inclusivity, spontenaeity(sp), freedom, curiosity, invention, culture, friendship and joy, for starters.

What I am saying is that I am pleading with you, begging with you, to stop being busy.

How hard can that be?

Oh, and I wrote a song about this: https://steemit.com/openmic/@mindhawk/open-mic-week-63-original-song-got-no-time

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mindhawk to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45