Writing Fiction a novel - Exclusive for Steemit - Diamonds and Deviants 10

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Diamonds and Deviants



This picture my own - others from Google Free to use images

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9


The doorman and the other employee, (the one that opened the door), a beautiful and elegant part-human of indeterminate sex, left without a sound. When the door had clicked behind them and the sounds of the noisy nightclub were shut out by the sound-proofing, without invite, Celtica sat in one of the elegant chairs. She crossed her legs and Maclaren watched her like a hawk - or like a vampire, which was way more intense than a hawk’s stare.

“You’ve got a problem, Maclaren,” Celtica said. She paused long enough for him to wonder what other problem he had before she continued. “The female vampire that was in on your plans to have me disposed of has dropped you right in it. By all accounts, it was all your idea.”

“No, that’s not how it went.” Maclaren seemed calm to Celtica but that didn’t mean anything, all vampires could shut out their emotions far easier than any other species.

“No? The conversation I had went something like this, ‘Who sent you?’ and the answer that was almost spat at me was ‘Maclaren’ and I kinda believed him because he was negotiating for his life.”

She could see the venom in his mind as he realised that the female vampire had glamoured the real answer out of the hit man and replaced it with the alternative answer, his name.

Celtica interrupted the inner conversation he seemed to be having with himself. “I realised that it wasn’t really you that sent them. That’s why I’m here now and it’s also why I promised not to harm you. I want the name of the vampire that did send those two…”

“Two?” Maclaren interrupted her. “I only knew about one. What did they look like?”

“One was human, high on narcotics but the other one wasn’t full human and he wouldn’t tell me what mixture he was, I only know that he was some kind of mongrel.”

When Maclaren realised that Celtica knew about the mongrel situation, he knew that he was in deeper than he had first thought.

“Look, Miss Diamond, I don’t know what you are, it’s now clear to me that you’re some kind of preterdeviant too, if you know about the mongrels and all, but I genuinely only thought that you were some sort of human private investigator, poking around in vampire business for Gideon Grey. If I had known that you weren’t human, I would have…”

“You’d have what? Sent me flowers? Come to my office to tell me everything you knew or sent someone other than a smack-riddled human to do your assassination for you? Don’t get me wrong, I know it’s a dog eat dog world out there, which is why I’ve kept my head down all this time, but now that you know I’m preterdeviant too, what’s to stop you sending some other, more powerful assassin after me, like the vampires, earlier this evening.”

Celtica saw the surprise on his face and knew that she’d played this one dead on the money. He didn’t know about the two vampires that had been sent after her when the human and mongrel had failed. All she needed now was the name of the female vampire.

She waited for him to think.

“What do you need from me?”

“A name.”

“That’s all?”

Celtica nodded.

He thought some more. “I can’t really give you her name, she’s more powerful than I am, older and better connected.” He flinched as Celtica snarled. His hands came up in a placatory gesture and he reminded her, “You promised not to hurt me!”

“Yeah, I did.” Celtica calmed immediately and continued in a friendly tone. “You haven’t asked me what kind of preterdeviant I am.”

“No, I haven’t. I believe that you’re one of a kind though.”

Celtica smiled and nodded that he was right.

“So, what are you?” He was cautious and tentative but he was also really curious.

“Remember your ancient Roman and Greek history? Well, the beautiful women that lured sailors to wreck their ships on rocks, they were called Syrens, remember that?”

“Ye-es…” Maclaren was cautious as to where the conversation was turning. He could see something on the horizon and closing in fast but he didn’t know exactly what it could be yet.

“I’m a Syren. I’m descended from those that sang the haunting songs that drove ancient sailors mad. Jason, when he took his Argonauts to find the golden fleece instructed that his men stuff their ears with wax so that they couldn’t hear the Syren’s song.

He wanted to hear us though and he had himself strapped to the mast so that he wouldn’t try to swim out to us.”

“Really? I thought that was ancient myth.”

“Just like vampires and werewolves?”

Maclaren laughed at her analogy. “Yes, but I still can’t give you the name you want.”

Sort:  

What is this world coming to when you can't even trust vampires anymore?

On the topic of vampires, here's a Halloween riddle for you. What do you get when you cross a vampire with a snowman?

tip! hide

etibtsorf

Groan! LOL

Nice... both Winter and Halloween combined!

The answer is frostbite haha. I spelled it backwards in my previous comment.
Also, question about the story. What is a preterdeviant?

They are the supernaturals of that world - 'preter' - (beyond what is natural) and deviant -(departing from usual or accepted standards, especially in social behaviour.)

good to know

Thank you for the tip, I really do appreciate it <3

I appreciate your comments and the fact that you read my work, more.

no problem. I try and keep up with your work but sometimes I can only get to so many posts per day and with how bad steemit has been lately, its not easy. Keep up the good work

Thank you. Yes, it's been a little rocky just lately, but I think the tech people seem to have turned a corner... things are moving forward at a fast pace now :)

Great to see you posting so prolifically! Good stuff! Keep the vamps coming! Am new to this place..hey! :)

Hi, thanks for commenting!

I am beginning to like Celtica Diamond, she has a strange sense of humor. I think whe will be getting Maclaren to sing a different tune soon.

LOL Yes indeed! I'm just doing that episode now.

Oh, I'm confused now. I thought she was a Dragon. Is she a Syren-Dragon hybrid? Or is the premise that Syrens are a specific type of Dragon? I guess I will have to wait and see. Either way, once she decides Maclaren is talking, I imagine he WILL be giving her the name she's after.

I think what I had in mind was the syrens were dragons and she is one of those.

That's an intriguing idea - I like it! I always imagined them as a type of mermaid, but being dragons is much more fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70