Fact or Fiction - 23

in #writing6 years ago

Last post

Pictures from Google - free to use - search

Yesterday's Story


*Disclaimer

If you think you may know the people involved in this little escapade, trust me, you don’t… ok? For legal reasons, I’ve made it all up. It's pure coincidence if they resemble any persons - living or dead. None of it ever happened… these are not the droids you’re looking for…

Yesterday's story was ALL TRUE

Tut thought up the ridiculous pseudonym on the spur of the moment and had to stick with it all night.

His engagement wasn't called off at that point, I'm not sure how he got away with it.


For today's story, I'm sticking with this theme because I have Trev at the side of me, telling me more of these tales.

A group of 4th year apprentices were given the opportunity to visit America sponsored by a large company the coal mine bought machines and services from. The apprentices visited the main factory in Pennsylvania and for one of their day trips, they went to Niagara Falls. The lads were given spending money included in this sponsorship and were meant to have a good time as well as work hard while they were there.

Tut (remember him?) was one of the apprentices lucky enough to be chosen for the trip and he was excited, of course. He worked two days a week in the same Heading Team as Trev and all the men were excited and pleased for him. It was a great opportunity of course.

“What money do I need for America?” he asked.

Everyone told him the same thing – Euros.

Tut asked everyone what they would like bringing back because he’s a generous soul.

One of the men had always wanted a Stetson from America and Tut said he’d be delighted to get it for him.

Off the apprentices went and were looking forward to at least one of the adventures planned for them - the Niagara trip. Tut had changed his personal money for Euros and he was set for the trip… to America – where they don’t take Euros as currency...

On the day of the trip to Niagara, they were expressly told to take their passports with them because they would be visiting another country – Canada.

When they got to the border, one guy had forgotten his passport - FORTUNATELY he was allowed in – probably because they were all in the same party, had arrived in the same coach, it wasn’t as strict in those days and he was obviously British. It could have been a disaster for him really.

The guy that forgot his passport was renowned for losing stuff on nights out – his wallet usually, but not confined to just that, not by any means. The lads all know that if he was one of the guys on a night out, it’s a profitable evening if you follow him from pub to pub because that way, you’re more likely to find his wallet when he loses it.

Passport guy lost his shoe at Niagara. No one knows how or where.

The rest of the trip went without a hitch and Tut managed to get everything that everyone had requested from America.

On the day of their return, the men gathered around Tut’s locker after their shift had ended, all eager to see their gifts.

Tut passed around the gifts and accepted money in exchange for them and he finally got around to the guy that wanted the Stetson.

Tut handed over a package and the guy looked down at the package in his hands. He looked at Tut and looked down at the package and then back to Tut.

“What is it?” he asked. “I asked for a Stetson.”

“Yeah… That’s what I got,” Tut said, beginning to doubt himself.

“A Stetson is a hat,” the guy said. “This is cheese. I wanted a Stetson, a cowboy hat from America, not Stilton, you daft twat!”

Sort:  

My guess is False - I don't think he would have been allowed in to Canada without a passport.

I don't think you can bring dairy products into the UK from Canada ... so I'll say this is false (even though it totally sounds like something Tut would do, lol).

Tut is not the brightest so I could see something like this happening. But since customs in most countries don't allow food unless it is factory sealed, I would guess this part of the story is false...

I have a feeling this one is false, if you can get in with no passport there was no such thing as euros!

On January 1, 2002, the Euro banknotes and coins became adopted as legal tender.

:)

😂 😂 😂 😂
This story is just so funny. From the guy who forgot his passport (I'm very sure he would have been in a big mess if that happens now). Tut also changing his money to euros instead of US dollars and buying cheese instead of hat. My stomach ooo 😂.
Nice one @michelle.gent

Hello @michelle.gent been a while
Well from.what i read, your story seems to be true today.
We will find out tomorrow.

“What money do I need for America?” he asked.

Everyone told him the same thing – Euros.

Hmm...that's the only part that I was scratching my head over. On the assumption that it was a successful prank, I'll say it's TRUE.

fiction

Hi @michelle.gent
In guessing your stories, I have either success or a succession of failures :) I need to learn to keep a balance
Today's story may well be true, so my answer is True :)
Thank you

I loved reading stories since my childhood and even now I try to read short stories like This Fact and Fiction series. I think there is another thing other than fact or fiction that's called Faction (mixture of both) and sometimes I think your story is faction and of course its also a good creativity that I think used in stories, especially in long stories and novels as author's experiences help him/her about writing this stuff but its a very bad thing in journalism and its affecting journalism (I love journalism/reporting and trying it here on steemit) . Anyway its only a guess about some of your stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66