Fact or Fiction? - 17

in #writing7 years ago

Yesterday's post - a medley of decorating and animal escapades - Here

ALL (YES, every single one of those tales was...) TRUE


In my time, I've done some weird shit. I've done crazy shit and some shit I don't even believe my own memories of.

I've gone ghost hunting, film-making, researching, wandering around ancient buildings, landmarks and even Stonehenge (I'd like to go back there again).


From English Heritage

I cannot possibly tell you which I like to do best because it all depends on the mood, the situation and the company.

Here's the tale I'm going to tell today. All or Nothing - it's either completely TRUE or all FALSE - you decide.


The night we went to Batman's mansion to hunt ghosts and wander about on the roof.


From Wiki

Trev won a ticket to go on a ghost-walk. It was a fabulous twist of fate. I'd been asked if I'd like to go along with a group of local ghost hunters, a medium friend invited me along. I always say yes to these things and it was all set. The company charges £40 or £50 for a tour and I thought I was exceptionally lucky to be invited for free!

Trev and I went along to The Black Bull where my medium friend was helping out in a fund-raising thing. I took my books along because sometimes, people actually do buy them...

Trev bought a few raffle tickets and promptly forgot where he'd put them. No wonder he 'never wins anything' - he probably does, but doesn't find the tickets for weeks, by which time the prize has been given to another winner.

So Trev's number came out and he chose the Ghost hunt. The same Ghost hunt I had been invited on. That meant he couldn't give the prize to me - I was already going.

We set out on the night of the hunt. Wrapped up warm because it was winter and the place we were going to didn't have heating - or lights in most of the rooms we went in...

Wollaton Hall is quite close to where we live yet we've never visited it (that I can remember... maybe as a child). It's a great, imposing building, with a twisty drive into the grounds, surrounded by a massive wall.

We congregated in the main lobby and I have to say, even without great lighting, it's darned impressive.

There are stuffed animals EVERYWHERE because it's also a museum.

We went into the kitchen area first and the cooking range looks suitably old fashioned. I'm sure Bruce Wayne would have had it modernised...

I don't remember if anyone 'felt' any of the spirits in that room, but when we went into a closed-off corridor, the atmosphere did feel a little ominous. In the darkness, with only a few candles to see by (flashlights were banned to help with atmosphere), I swear I saw a cat slink around the door and come towards us. It was a white and ginger cat, but it didn't get to us... it faded away before it got to us!

OK...

We went into other rooms and the freakiest happening didn't happen to me...

Trev was invited to join a table where they were using a glass as a planchette.

The glass was very active and I could hear the women's cries of alarm as the glass shot across the table toward one or another of them.

The session seemed to go really well and then it stopped abruptly and the table cleared, everyone moving away.

I was looking in mirrors and wasn't really concentrating on them. I was peering into a mirror, trying to see what was flickering just behind me, a little out of clear-view, when Trev came up to the side of me and made me jump.

He laughed and seemed in a really good mood.

"That glass pushing thing," he said.

"Glass pushing thing? You're not supposed to push the glass!" I admonished him in a hushed voice.

"I know," he said. "I didn't... Well, I did... I stopped the glass from moving. I pressed hard on it."

"And it was trying to move?" I asked, a little in awe because Trev doesn't usually join in with these things.

"Well, sort of," he said. "When I let the glass go, one woman almost ended up across the table, she was trying to push it so hard."

So Trev had caught-out someone. She'd been pushing the glass to make everyone excited about the 'spirits' and when he'd stopped the glass from moving, she pushed harder and harder.

Oh dear. The woman and her group kept away from us after that.

Trev still doesn't believe in ghosts...

Sort:  

Idon't believe in ghosts but It seem I'm wrong lol

This is fiction ghost hunting! ....in Africa we don't play that game you might never find peace . warning !

nice article

Although I believe in ghost and imagine ghost hunting would be great fun and yes there are many playing tricks to get excitement out of tours, I believe this tale to be fiction.

wow that is great writing
your creativity is good i see
thanks for sharing

Clearly fiction but i bet you really creep over from stuffed animals. Because i am trembling when i see one :)

My guess is that you didn't really save those £40 or £50. : )

But when I was a kid, I loved to call the ghosts with my fiends, we always scared and excited each other. : )

Maybe that's why I had this nightmare. : )

Everything was TRUE! 😊 Ouija Board or spirit of the glass? Thank you for sharing this @michelle.gent!😊

i watched a documentary lately where a guy proved Stonehenge was possible to be built by just one man .he would seesaw the stones adding timber underneath each time until it was high enough to be placed in the hole

Myth and reality in contradiction.
Tbe quality stands before the quantity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49