Excited! I've just found... Part 3 - Verdigris

in #writing6 years ago

This story! I'd lost it for the longest time and now I've found it, I think I want to do something with it.

I started this one years ago - years and years ago!

Here it is... in parts (sorry, I don't want to overwhelm you).

Pictures from Google

Part 1
Part 2

Sorry this one is so close to the last episode. We're off to the funeral of one of our dear friends today and I can't be certain of the state I'll be in when we get back.

They approached a jumbled mess of buildings that looked as though they had been built by people who didn’t really know or care how houses should be built, or how they should look. Katie realised they were beyond the restraints of any planning committee.

image.png

As they got closer she could also tell that the houses were in no uniform style or even period. As far as she could tell, Elizabethan mingled with Victorian and any and all styles in between.
When she finally saw the people of this jumbled, mixed-medley of a town, she realised why. Their clothes were the same eclectic mix of periods and styles - if not more so - as their houses.

image.png

A welcoming party of sorts gathered on the steps of an imposing monument - she recognised it as being a sorry attempt at replicating the monument in her town centre back home. At the top of the steps stood a woman and as they approached, Katie began to become worried and hang back.

She pulled on her grandad’s hand, trying to slow their approach and whispered frantically “Grandad, that’s Queen Bess!”

“Yes, Lambkin and we are here, at Verdigris. These are a few of the people that wanted to meet you.”

“Queen Elizabeth The First wanted to meet me?” Suddenly, Katie was frightened. “Grandad, am I dead?”

She looked up at him, hoping that he was going to assure her and take the fears away. The look in his beautiful blue eyes did not make her feel better.

“No, but you are close.” He leaned forward and embraced her and she felt the hot wet tears drip onto her neck as he held her tight.

“What do you mean?” She asked the side of his head, which was all she could see from his close proximity to her.

She felt a hand on her upper arm as they were parted.

“Harold, I will explain from here. I thank you for bringing your dear granddaughter to us. You may stay or leave, whichever is your wish.” Queen Elizabeth said.

image.png

“Please stay, Grandad.”

He nodded and kept his head bowed so as to hide the tears from her.

Sort:  

Really amazing post , i really like it . Keep good work .

I resteem your post on my blog .

Your post is always different i follow your blog and upvote everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @michelle.gent

As always, deal with life, we are here if you need some support or some help. Loss is not an easy thing to deal with, and as we grow older it becomes even harder to deal with, not easier as some would have us believe.

Thank you. I have to admit, everything seemed way deeper than I imagined.

For the most part, one of Jimmy's friends gave a touching Eulogy for another one of our friends and he had the mourners rolling in the aisles. I'm afraid I expected at least a little of that, but the family didn't want it and so my expectations of a rousing send-off, filled with tears of laughter for the man and the great personality we knew didn't come to pass.

Aha! ... I knew it...my theory was right....ohhhh can't wait to see where this goes

upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you! Same here ;)

Excelente relato. Está bien construido. En cuanto a las casas observando bien la construcciones creo que los que la hicieron tuvieron otra valoración de habitalidad. Como lo es la seguridad.

El reforzamiento de las paredes en X lo qe simboliza es que una zona sísmica, el constructor sacrifico belleza por seguridad.

También debe ser una zona inundable por lo que levanto del piso para darle también seguridad por abajo y para que las sacudidas se sientan menos...

La foto de Isabel espectacular. tenia días viajando y no había podido compartir. saludos

Gracias. Siempre aprecio tus comentarios. Estoy feliz de que disfrutes mis historias. Viajes seguros.

So sorry for the loss of your friend. Take the time you need to grieve. Your followers will be here when you return.

Thank you. It knocked us all for six.

I like this story and I'm glad you found it again.

Girl, I really need to keep up again with your stories... this month for me has been crazy as hell!

I've noticed you've been busy. Keep up the good work!

The story is very interesting when queen elizabeth mingle with the classic house a la viktoria

I love this read. Though it is my first time reading any of the parts.
I will read the earlier parts so I can relate better.
Thank you for sharing this piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91