Battling adversities in pursuit of your goals

in #writing6 years ago

Yesterday I was chatting with my good friend @jcedwards and we got on to the subject of writing (no surprise there, she's a wonderful poet, check out her work).

She dropped a link into our chat and told me about the woman in the video.

I have a friend who is the Poet Laureate for the Yukon here in Canada - Pj Johnson. She has difficulty reading and writing and is a Singer/Songwriter/Poet/Performer ... AND a Poet Laureate.

She is someone I respect, admire and look up to ... and my favourite piece of hers is called "Howlin' Time." If I can find the link I'll drop it in here - well worth a listen.

Sometimes, when my Muse is around me, giving loads of ideas, playing up to my strengths and helping my stories write themselves, I forget that other writers don't find it as easy as I do - whether that's because of other commitments, work, childcare helping others to care for themselves, or just the fact that their own Muse is off wandering - I don't know.

Then I see inspirational people everywhere (@jcedwards is one of those for me) and the adversities they overcome is truly humbling.

PJ Johnson is another exceptionally talented lady who is overcoming her own adversities - she suffers with 'Non-verbal Learning Disorder' - NLD Wiki

From Wiki-

...characterized by verbal strengths as well as visual-spatial, motor, and social skills difficulties. It is sometimes confused with Asperger Syndrome or high IQ. Nonverbal learning disorder has never been included in the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders or the World Health Organization's International Classification of Diseases.

I cannot say that I can help with your writing, especially if you are affected by dyslexia, but the #story-mentor tag is there for you to use. I drop by that tag most days and though I may not comment on all the posts, I do try to read most.

If you would like to join in with the Story-mentor tasks, please feel free to do so. Our little group is growing in number and I think we're all in the same mind-set - helping writers to improve in any way we possibly can (myself included).

Most important (to me) is that we do NOT 'author-bash' - there is ONLY constructive criticism here.

If you'd like to resteem this invitation, again, feel free. If you're an established writer/editor/expert in the field, you're also most welcome to impart knowledge and experience, we'd love to read about you.

Hope to see you soon.

Sort:  

Thank you ma'am for trying to help those who cannot help themselves, I admire your courage. Remain blessed ma

wow great post thanks for sharing

Thanks s lot about this educational post.I appreciate your post.

@michelle.gent, I am not a great writer, but I like to write whatever I see and observe, usually, I write poetry, short stories, and women's issues, I am a student in Aceh-Indonesia. for me, this steemit is a place to creation and work .

#Women

I'm glad to see that you are open to helping other users. There are people whom you respect and you admire their work. But there are also many people who admire you and what you do.
You work in the right direction and I'm glad to see that the group is constantly growing and developing. I'm also glad to be a part of this group.

Hi Michelle! I'm sorry for not getting to your blog and our #story-mentor tasks... I've been focusing a lot on my art and possible avenues of earning money from it (no luck so far! ;P) - This has left little time for Steemit. I just manage to get my 1-post-a-day out, with a few comments here and there.

I hope you're well and that the growing group is doing good too.

Wow. Thank you so much for this post, and for spreading the word about people who do battle adversities and are able to excel in their passions. Just knowing you posted about this made me very emotional. And I can't thank you enough for your kind words to me and about my work - they mean so much. Knowing you are an inspiration to others is both humbling and something to cherish. I know you inspire me, and the joy that brings is immeasurable. I've resteemed this. Thank you. xox

So... nothing about the video, the information in the post or anything to do with it?

It's very amazing......

Please upvote my posthttps://busy.org/@mhmurad/alone

OK I voted on it 1% flag.

You've not cited the source for the picture you used and I've written more in reply to you spamming your link on my page than you wrote on the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55