Response to Ahe’ey - Perfection by @jamielefay

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Ah… Prince Charming is finally revealed! None else but Mr. Hiddleston rendered through a Photoshop filter. I used to frown at those ideal knights, because I never met them in a real life, although I met many pretenders.

Yet, come to think of it back in the day of my youth I adored this one novel. It’s called “Three Comrades” by Erich Maria Remarque.

It’s about several guys who were drafted to war very early in their lives and came back from it void of any believes except for very simple universal things like life, bread, vodka, and military comradery. Remarque’s characters speak in a mixture of cynical and yet very lyrical philosophical statements that they counteract life’s miseries. This novel also has one of the most charming female characters. A woman that doesn’t speak much but always say the right things at the right time, which creates a wonderful atmosphere around her, the atmosphere of love, warmth and light mystery.
I happen to read this novel recently and understood why her image was so attractive back then to me and to millions of other young men. Remarque created an imaginary woman, the woman every man wants to meet but would never meet because women like this exist only in man’s imagination. Thus, the whole novel, despite its very realistic texture and meticulously convincing details, action, and dialogs, is, in fact, a fantasy – a male fantasy. And if a male fantasy can have its place in quality literature, who is to say that female fantasy can’t?

So, coming back to Ahe’ey. I, actually, wonder if the inner spring of the entire novel is a simple infatuation that the author felt as a teenager for this actor.

Although I’d probably disagree on the chosen appearance…
The person you chose is certainly sleek and smooth but also he is insidious and serpentine. I would have told my daughter to stay away from this guy. Not that she’d listen to me. LOL

Although he seems to be a complex person and have a wide acting range, I would think his best and the most natural acting would be achieved playing an unprincipled scoundrel like the one played by John Malkovich in “Dangerous Liaisons” or by Tim Roth In “Rob Roy.”

In my view, he doesn’t fit the image of Gabriel the way Gabriel is presented in the novel – sort of a noble and courageous knight, Price Charming.
If I were to make a screen adaptation of Ahe’ey I’d cast Clive Owen to play Gabriel

He fits the ideal knight shoes much better.

It’s actually natural that male and female fantasies about the opposite sex gender don’t jive. Sometimes, I think men and women are representatives of different species. Nature only put them in contact to procreate and uses sexual attraction for it. Other than that both those “species” could have gone their separate ways without much regret for each other’s company. In that, I, perhaps, agree with Valerie Solanas and her SCUM Manifesto.

As far as Morgan being afraid of losing control over her feelings… It’s in her character to throw tantrums when things don't go exactly her way and she is a bit of a control freak.
It’s not that a strong person has no feelings, it’s just that they have strong feelings that are not always possible to control. She is also a bit juvenile and doesn’t understand that every moment of real happiness doesn’t come for free and one has to pay a double or triple price for it.
Just my humble opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34