Mother's Day

in #writing7 years ago

Mother's Day is a day of thankfulness and love. For some, it's a day spent with their moms or mom figures. For others, it's a day filled with bittersweet feelings because our mom is no longer with us.

Back story time: Growing up, my "mother" was never really around much. I and my two younger siblings lived with our grandparents. I am the oldest of three. I am about five years older than my sister, who is the middle child, and six years older than my baby brother. For five years, my grandparents solely raised me. When I was around eleven, my mom up and decided she wanted to start parenting, so we moved to Texas. By this time, I had already formed a deep attachment to my grandparents.

Let's fast forward about 15 years. In 2014, I met my husband. We instantly fell in love and got engaged about six months after we met. We married in April 2015. One week later my grandma passed away, three days before Mother's Day. 22329_10203924124258501_1047537396498358591_n (1).jpgGrandma & me

Crushed does not describe the words I felt of her passing. For many years, she was my mom. We did everything together. She taught me everything I know today. She became my best friend.

Each Mother's Day since her passing is a hard day. It's not hard in the sense that I cannot get out of bed because I have this overwhelming sadness. It's hard because I see all the Mother's Day photos on social media. It makes me miss my grandma just a tad bit more. So if you are someone or know someone who has lost a loved one, you/they are not alone in the feelings you are experiencing. I have learned to honor my grandmother on special days by doing things in her memory. It does help ease the sadness I feel.

I know I am writing this technically AFTER Mother's Day, but Happy Mother's Day to all the mommies (and single dads). Becoming a mom isn't just by giving birth to a child. Whether you are a grandparent, aunt, friend, god-parent, fur mommy... whatever your circumstances are, Mother's Day is JUST for you. Every day, in one way or another, we nurture someone or something. I hope each and every one of you had a great special day.

Until next time!
-Meg

Sort:  

Mother's day can come everyday in my dictionary

I totally agree! :)

Congratulations @meghankeeler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66