Malaki Anthology #1 - "I wasn't there." - Worldbuilding ExcerptsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I wasn’t there at the beginning. I wasn’t there when the thirty-three had their lives taken from them on that harsh winter's night. I wasn’t there when many followed them in the outrage and violence that ensued. I wasn’t there when sworn enemies became allies, and allies became enemies. I wasn’t there when the world was watching with bated breath.

I wasn’t there in the middle. I wasn’t there when they met for discussion, masking their enmity with smiles and clenched teeth. I wasn’t there when they announced that they had settled their differences after seventeen days of deliberation. I wasn’t there when they promised peace to the world. I wasn’t there when they left with suspicious glances and clenched fists.

I wasn’t there at the end. I wasn’t there when the sirens sang their clarion call. I wasn’t there when the clamor of life was drowned out in a moment by the roaring of a new sun- and then silenced completely. I wasn’t there when the lakes and rivers returned to the skies from where they had come. I wasn’t there when the great cities of man were swept aside in an instant by the hand of god.

I wasn’t there, but my family still was.

And now they’re gone.

An excerpt from propaganda
Ca. 2107, during the rise of Malaki

- - -

Hello steemians!

Here's a bit of teaser/warmup/worldbuilding from the world of my upcoming book, to give you glimpses into the story that I'm going to be telling. I'm very excited to eventually share it with you in its entirety.

Catch you on the flipside.

~ Mako

Get to Know Me! (+ a teaser from my Prologue)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68164.82
ETH 2641.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70