Vocab-ability Numbers (Chapter 4) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes all the Vocab-ability roots representing “Numbers”)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This post comprises those roots that represent the “Numbers” from 1 to 10, as well as those that represent 100 and 1,000.

In total, this Vocab-ability post features 12 roots that represent “Numbers." (While these “Number" roots are usually used as prefixes,  they are occasionally used as the stems of words also.)

Vocab-ability Numbers–362 (mono, uni = 1, one)

Vocab-ability Numbers–363 (bi, di, doubl = 2, two)

Vocab-ability Numbers–364 (tri = 3, three)

Vocab-ability Numbers–365 (quart, quad, tetra = 4, four)

Vocab-ability Numbers–366 (penta, quint = 5, five)

Vocab-ability Numbers–367 (hexa, sexa = 6, six)

Vocab-ability Numbers–368 (sept, hept = 7, seven)

Vocab-ability Numbers–369 (oct = 8, eight)

Vocab-ability Numbers–370 (nov, non = 9, nine)

Vocab-ability Numbers–371 (dec = 10, ten)

Vocab-ability Numbers–372 (cent = 100, hundred)

Vocab-ability Numbers–373 (mill = 1000, thousand)

Note re Copyright / Free Use: 

I hold the copyright to the original Vocab-ability guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use to all the material contained in this post and all other Vocab-ability posts on Steemit.    

Note re Copying each Screenshot: 

Each separate entry (including those in this and other Vocab-ability posts) consists of one screenshot (since making screenshots was the only way I could properly format the individual entries for uploading to Steemit). To use these entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download any or all screenshots by clicking and dragging the screenshots that you want to use, and then print them out.   


 

Sort:  

I find numbers quite easy, I can guess intuitively the meaning.
Maybe just tetrapod and tetralogy I always felt was coming from 3, not from 4.

Ya, many of these are quite commonly known.

On the other hand, "tetra" is quite rare, so it's not important to remember it. But I included it here only because I used to see the large, ugly tetrapods lining the Japanese coast. :-(

well, never thought words could be classified by numbers like this..!

a good trick to remember the words..!

thanks for this 'vocab-abolity' series..!

its been really helpful for non English speakers like me..!!! 🙌

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

It's not done yet .... A few hundred more coming over the next year!

cool..!!!
keep the good work going..!!

I will. I'm gonna do daily posts, with Vocab Practice exercises. Anyone who completes the Practice exercises properly will get an UpVote.

I hope to see regular practice from you!

my exams aren't over yet but hopefully i can keep up with the practicing..!

Excellent! I can see that many words of our language have their roots in the Greek. :)

Yep. Learn 1 root, and you can learn a handful of words.
Glad you like it!

I was lucky enough to be in the last Latin class offered at my school. Understanding the roots of words is vital to REAL communication. We live in a modern Babylon where everyone has an opinion on what a word means and very few actually know the definition!

I did not study any Latin in school. I learned all these roots when I was teaching English in Japan.

I learned a lot (more than my students, maybe!!!), and found it all very interesting.

Excellent article. I really liked it. These roots of words have become new to me. Thanks for the knowledge. Good luck to you and Love.

Excellent article. I really liked it. These roots of words have become new to me. Thanks for the knowledge. Good luck to you and Love.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you. And that is not a "random" thanks!

Resteemed to over 16500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO is open now for 4 rounds in 4 weeks.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

It is really extraordinary! I love. good post @majes.tytyty.

Amazing lecture Sir!
I have never seen something like this before.

@majes.tytyty ..... as usual a wonderful post again with much more information. I think you share what I want to know...
thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86