My Entry for Art Prompt Writing Contest #3 by Gmuxx - Human Desire

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to Art Prompt Writing Contest #3 by Gmuxx in which you can find the link here Art Prompt Writing Contest #3

Rules Are :

  • Using this photograph as a prompt, write a piece of original fiction with between 500 and 1000 words.
  • Post a link to your story in the replies to this post.
  • Upvote this post. A resteem would be nice, but not compulsory.
  • The contest will end September 23rd at 23:59 BST

In a room, filled with people, dressed in the most colorful and fashionable silk saree, they could afford with fake smiles stuck to their faces and nobody seemed to notice, the tragedy of the bride whose life was about to change forever. Her life and virginity, were to be handed to a twenty years older stranger whom she's never even seen, and who'd be the master of her fate, from this day till the rest of her life. I, the spectator, couldn't bear this sight with such a frivolous smile. Despite forcing myself to act happy for my friend to ease her pain at least a little bit.

credit image : @thatindianlady

I was never a good performer, and she could see right through me.

She was sitting gracefully by the edge of her bed,glancing at me trying to utter some words. Then, I looked back at her in my most amiable smile, trying to convince that everything would be all right. Despite my efforts, I knew, I couldn't cheer her up ,and it had to be her who'd console my spirit ,and sense of powerlessness in face of greater force.

I recalled a month ago, when I received an invitation right on my doormat. It was her favorite color, lilac inscribed with gold ink letters and floral decorations on the edge. In vain, I picked it up and placed them on my drawer never bother to check them again. She knew this would happen. It was inevitable that she had a little choice to decide on her life.

It was only last summer, we went to beach in Goa having the time of our lives. She was in her element: her dyed hair was fluttering in the wind ; her shape was so glorious that I couldn't stop to stare; her carefree smile was truly a diamond. She would also bite her lip everytime I called her name, exhibiting magnificent coyness. As I turned the portable speaker
on and put on her favorite song, she got up from her mattress, rest her hands on her hips swaying side to side in tune with the music. I danced with her and I could smell the fragrance of her perfumes mixed with her sweat.

It was very intoxicating, and before long I realized, I couldn't keep my eyes from her full lips in her brown lipstick. My thoughts began to spin around the flavor and texture of her moist lips ,and then I realized she was looking at me. I turned my head away to avoid her brown eyes ,and when I tried to catch a glimpse of her face again I felt a hot and moist feeling on my lips. The fragrance of roses filled my nostrils. Lightheaded, I returned the kiss and savored the flavor of her lips.

She and I, lay awake side to side, with our hands intertwined, waiting for the sun to fade. Our world was never going to collide and certainly we knew that much. I yearned for an affection of a long lost mother which I could find in her naivety. While she simply loved me like all of her wise sisters. I was no different than them.

Simultaneously, with the end of our college days, I had to move back to Brooklyn, living with my father. I had to leave all memories during my stay in India, and embarked on another life journey. It was truly devastating so, I started to indulge in alcohol abuse and xanax tab. Took me a while to find myself back and I started switching so many girls just for the sake of erasing her out of my directory.

I remembered the day I left India, she sat down in my flat's room weeping bitterly questioning my own decision.

You can not leave, and I want you to stay - she insisted.

There's nothing left for me here, we can't be together. We both know this.

I hate you, I hate you - she sobbed

She insisted on going with me to the airport.And on our way there, we spoke about stupid things like we used to when we hanged around the city, together. I felt sadness building up inside me as we were getting closer to the airport, but I knew I couldn't show my feelings.

That's not the way to do things - I told myself in my head repeatedly.

I had to be strong, so she could be strong, too. When we got to the airport I still had 1 hour before the departure. We found a corner with fewer people in this very crowded place, and began to talk about silly things again. Things that didn't matter, but I still kept talking regardless, just so I could keep her with me for a little bit longer.

No. Don't cry ! You can't! and Don't cry or I'll start crying too!

I was thinking about hugging her or wiping her tears, but I was too stunned to do anything of the sort. The strength was drained out of me and I stood there like an idiot looking at her wet face dripping with tears. Before I realized I was the next person in line and I moved on, simply uttering "Goodbye" as my parting words. I moved to the next line and watched her stand there in tears.

Yet today, I saw that moment playing on repeat inside my head. I was thinking the same that I should hug and wipe her unseen tears. I could somehow understand her refusal of all this lunatic arrangement but I was standing motionless seeing the world passed me by.

Needless to say,she looked completely stunning with red saree wrapped around her voluptuous figure. Despite trying to hide her tears, her brown eyes were still the most beautiful pairs I could ever stare at.I held her soft hands and lifted her up into the main venue as she frowned. I guided her to the altar as our bangles created a somber tune each step we took.

It was the day I let her go for good, and I reflected myself if I was to be in that position. Probably it was for the good of her. The loud music soaked in my feelings and I watched her smiling from the distance, hoping that it was a life she could ever wished for. I only hoped she would be happy ever after,and I could lead a new, peaceful life in Brooklyn, without being haunted by the past of her.

Sort:  

Hi macc! :) good story. It was a flowing story right from the start. nice. :)

@chinito, Thank you :D and did you notice something right there? like something dark hidden in the story :D

i re-read it, but not totally sure what it is.. just tell me. :P

great friendship story. Have you seen the Guradian of the Galaxy Vol.2? It's about friendship too. 😊

sort of steamy friendship :D

true friends fight. 😊

Upvoted and Resteemed by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. You can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please upvote this comment so that MAP can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

This post received a 15% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58