Finding a Needle in a Haystack

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Curation on steemit is a crucial part of the environment. When I was still new, I got curated couple of times by OCD and Curie project which I think are the biggest and the hottest curation on steemit. When there was a calling to be a curator, I signed myself up. Prior to that, I have read a chatter from a server I know that there was inequality in distributing the curation. I was sick of hearing that and I hope to help the new users with something I could do. Here I am now, being part of the team for about couple of month.

Curation.jpg

Being part of the team, made me understand that it's a work to filter numerous article from the ocean. There are hundreds of them and that it takes time to read, to filter and to see if they can be featured on the international compilation. I am not one 100% sure of how other curation works, but every curation project has their own generic rules. But when it comes to content, It is based on a curator's judgement.

I put myself outside the box so it doesn't affect my judgement. I spread my nest as far as possible to find content from new users and bring them into an international compilation. I don't care where you live, who you know, what your background are, how much do you have in your wallet, or how influential are you. All I care is what you try to present to the environment.

I think many of curators have already encourage users to create a free plagiarism content. Countless articles have been written yet apparently the value of an article seems to fade away as the monetary value ends. Furthermore, I do not think it's necessary to write the same information all over again, is it too hard to research and read on your own about how a content should be?

I am well aware of fact, not everyone born to be a writer but steemit has given us platform to be an artist, musicians and contribute in any way that we can. With this massive of opportunity, is it still difficult to be original?

How to prove an originality in a simple way?

Let's say, if you are an artist out there, always share your steps of creating your art because people could also try and learn something from that. It is also a reassurance for the curator, that it was made by you and only you. There are also another ways to make sure that the content is yours and only such as having your name signed or a watermark.

If you are citing from another website please do a link with this markdown format below

[TITLE] ( Websitelink)

Finally, If ever you feel dissatisfied with the curation project that you know, or simply want to create your own curation rules, make it happen. The cold hard truth is that, there is nothing instant and feel free to start from scratch. Let me give you an example of an outstanding curation project that value an old undervalued posts.

The Deadpost Initiative - Share your most undervalued work (SBD prize)

The project is run by @whatamidoing without a team backing him up. It was started from scratch and that participants participate willingly. The reward wasn't much and earlier posts of him even generate less, to reward the participants. This is an example of self build curation that generates a healthy interaction between its participants. And this is what it should be, writers get feed back not just a generic Good job comment. Say no more, the content that was brought to the table was a five star cuisine that you won't regret to eat. As I previously said, often a content value fades as the monetary too and his initiative is bringing old posts to be still valuable despite the seven days rule.

Sign Up today!.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @macchiata, this is one of my posts from today, all original photographs and graphics made by myself, but zero views https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@djh/colorchallenge-red-monday-s-red-red-flower-you-make-me-feel-real

Any ideas what I am doing wrong? Thanks in advance for your advice

Hey @djh I have left little tips I know on that post here. I hope it helps.

Steem on !

I got both too, but I will rather investigate on the sidelines what is the newest thing on their plate and give my support other than actually join in with any of them.
One of my pals is curious and interested joining in, he is an awesome writer and it is just a matter of time he shines out. I have no ideas what is a procedure of joining in. Signing a super secret contract or so?

I think you have to follow if there's any latest information and to be honest it's not that hard as long as you follow the project you like. Many projects usually open application, all you have to do is find.

addition : There's no super secret contract or anything :D

Ok, I will pass the information to my pal.
addition: I was joking.

Do you have a secret handshake? LOL

:d yeah I have a very secret handshake. I'll DM you about it and show it how it's done :D

Ok, lol, that will be interesting.

Yeah, it's really an ocean of posts every direction one goes. Although most of them are short and meaningless, there are hidden gems to find. That's the beauty of exploring!

@spellmaker, I always love the process of finding those gems :)) It has been teaching me a lot of things and wonders indeed. Have a great day @spellmaker!

Memang untuk menentukan konten yang asli butuh ketelitian yang serius, kalau tida maka kondisi tersebut akan berdampak terhadap kesenjangan sesama steemian lainya. Semoga @macchiata tetap manjadi bagian dari Curator yang profesional.


Indeed to determine the content of the original need thoroughness as serious, if not then the condition will affect the gap fellow steemian. May @macchiata still worked part of a professional Curator.

@munawir91 terimakasih sudah berkunjung dan juga support yang @munawir91 berikan.

Ok @macchiata, terimakasih kembali, semoga sukses untuk kita semua . . .

Nice post, I resteem it ... and upvote you later when my power is charged again.

@hetty-rowan ;) thank you for resteem it's more than enough

great post with a lot of good information, greeting

Hey @jackjohanneshemp, I think you really check on every post from the lion's legion :) good job there mate!

there are some changes at the moment but they will start next week againe, thx for the nice comment, greetings

"I put myself outside the box so it doesn't affect my judgement. I spread my nest as far as possible

Indeed that's a good curator. You as a curator has to put yourself in other people shoes. Not everything you don't like is bad content therefore you still have to upvote.

Well thats my view on it :)

Peace

ha ha that's kinda true, I have to put myself in someone else's shoes. But the first consideration will be if the content is original then I could proceed to make my judgment. I think what matters first is that the originality.

@macchiata yup curation is equally important because you know just because of curation new users get motivated after seeing that they are getting rewards for what they are writing.... Good topic seriously keep steeming!!

I like the way you interact in the platform :)) and you're right, I think curation really boost people's motivation to be more productive and delivering more top notch content.

good information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78