man in the mirror

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

However cliché it is to mention confronting oneself in the mirror, it is an interesting endeavor that I feel I must mention. When I stare into my eyes, I see nothing more than a reflection of my physical self within the mirror I'm able to see it through. By that I mean, there's no way to look into your own eyes other than through a reflection and, in doing so, all one can see is a reflection. This reflection does not reveal the true "self," nor the "ego," nor the "I," nor whatever else you may call it. It simply allows you to see a reflection. Nothing more, nothing less. I have never found it difficult to look at myself, my physical reflection, in the mirror, as it is the same as, or possibly less powerful as, a reflection of thought. You see yourself in a physical sense, but I'm at a loss for why that is anything more than the self-constructed, societal-constructed, self-identified, societal-identified feeling of being an "I" within a body. The body is you. The mind is you. Whether separate or one in the same, they (both mind and body) are representations/reflections of whoever or whatever you are. I may sound contradictory, as I am finding it difficult to convey my current thoughts into words, but I assure you, reader, I am doing the best I can.

man in the mirror.JPG

the man in the mirror mocks me, so I must mock him. he thinks he has the upper hand, but I am always taking the same step as he. when I look into his eyes, I see a reflection, and I am sometimes let down to know I will only ever see such. I know he's looking for more, but I find solace in knowing he will never find it. my reflection will only ever see a reflection--just the same as me

Sort:  

Congratulations @lukaswendell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @lukaswendell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90