An interactive story for Steemit readers - you choose the path by upvoting!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

It's getting close...

I would very much like to  post my first Steemit interactive fictional story with illustrations. 

A story where you the reader will get to choose the next part of the story. How? by Upvoting the comment/choice about where you want the story to go next.

I have been working on this book for several months, with my friend doing the illustrations and we have already created dozens of possible variations, sub plots and endings.

 

All my posts to date have been about getting just a few open minded followers, in the hope we can get enough attention to make this worth while.

To explain the concept:

  • Each week I will post a new page, it's a fantasy story, and it's designed to deeply engage you (as if you are the main character in the story).
  • Each page will be accompanied by an illustration created by my friend.
  • Each page will end with a number of comments, placed by me which represent a different choice/pathway that the book could take (like the old choose your own adventure books of the past) you simply Upvote the choice you think the main character in the book should take next
  • After 7 days I will count the number of Upvotes against each comment and the one with the most, will be the next page of the story I post.
  • As the story is already half written, it is possible the  most popular choice may end in the story ending prematurely. If this occurs I''ll re-post from page one and begin the process again, posting based on the choices made by the readers.

I don't want to give away too much, but the story is fictional (science fiction/fantasy) about you being trapped and you need to make the right choices to escape and finish the story.

If your reading this, can you please Upvote this post and resteem it!. (I just don't have enough followers, but so keen to get this going,  so I really need your help). If you know a WHALE or you are a whale or even a medium sized fishy! please, now is your time to help and show support.

Please Upvote  both the post each week and the comment/choice you believe in. I will count them up at the end of the 7 days and the comment with the most Upvotes will be used to select the next page posted.

Todays post will have two comments/choices and is a test to see if the people of Steemit are willing to get behind this idea...It's your Steemit adventure, you choose!!. 

NOTE: If I don't get at least 20 Upvotes, I'll take this as a sign and I won't start posting the story - instead I'll keep re-posting this post until we get enough interest (hopefully this makes sense?) 

Sort:  

Please Upvote here, if you feel this isn't how Steemit should be used and you don't think an interactive story is a good idea.

Please Upvote here, if you like the concept and would like me to post page one of the interactive story :)

I'm excited to see where this is heading!

Thanks for your support.

I've posted page one now: https://steemit.com/writing/@lordnigel/an-interactive-fantasy-story-page-one

Unfortunately people seem to be struggling with the voting concept :( ..wish i could think of a better way

I think an interactive story is a really great idea! Followed, and looking forward to the story (only 9 more votes to go).

Cheers - so close, just 3 more now!

Fantastic 20 votes reached! Thanks everyone and especially those who voted so much.

Please see:https://steemit.com/writing/@lordnigel/an-interactive-story-for-steemit-readers-20-votes-recieved.

Please continue Upvoting and sharing if your reading this post for the first time, without enough readers and voters this won't be successful. Cheers

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Fantastic Idea! Too bad you make the choices as sticky posts so they stay at the top.

Cheers? I'm still very new to Steemit. Do you have some thoughts how else I might do it, to get the interaction. Perhaps just ask people to choose A or B type thing and comment their choice

I like how you have it. It's just that the comments will get shuffled around with the votes.
I will resteem for sure. Just need to get everybody to resteem. :)

Thanks, much appreciated

Hey, just posted page one at: https://steemit.com/writing/@lordnigel/an-interactive-fantasy-story-page-one

Unfortunately people seem to be struggling with the voting concept :(...still trying to think of a better way (maybe put links to other posts that are the choices or something?)...I guess I wait and see if people work it out.

Maybe ....something that stands out a bit more like.

Option #1:


run away, holding back tears and screaming for help!
Upvote this option to choose it.

Or better yet use an image that pops out instead of "Option #1"

Resteemed

You could also phrase it as a path the story should take. Instead of an option or choice. Then use images for the path options.

pathsign#1.jpg
Run away crying and flailing your arms in the air.
Upvote here to choose this path.

Just thinking about ideas :)

Thanks mate, heaps appreciated...I just don't have the graphic/computer skills. I just tried something simple on latest post - is this more clear?

When I was a kid I remember reading one of those spooky books where depending on your choice you turn to a specific page, so I like your idea! ^.^

Cool - exactly!, I loved those books, easy to read and a picture or two to help the imagination.

We could use any help possible as I'm not sure I'll get enough interest; could you also please re-steem as Doctorcrypto suggests. Any steem$ I get from this will go to my friend the illustrator, to help her get a job/exposure in her chosen career.

Already resteemed. ^.^
Oh, and I always forget about it, but steemit chat exists. There's a post promotion channel there - https://steemit.chat/channel/postpromotion. Maybe you'd like to post the link to your post on that channel to attract more people. Adding this in case you didn't know about steemit chat. :)

Thankyou for the great idea. I wasn't aware, so I've just created an account and posted a link there. Fingers crossed.

Hope more people will join the fun ^.^

upvote and comment done now your turn @mdatiqurrahman

Cheers mate, I get 20 votes and I'll do the first page for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16