You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have Confidence in Your Vision - Book Club #14: "Steve Jobs"

in #writing6 years ago

Steve Jobs is someone I still admire till date especially after listening to his commencement speech at Stanford university some years back.

In the speech he talked about believing in a thing and pushing forward to achieve it. The keyword there is believe. Not just thinking or imagining but believing in it even when it's still experimental. I think that attitude was what brought most of his innovations.

Now to the QOTD, unwavering confidence is what drives me everywhere I go. My life has been about that. I combine my thinking and my instinct together to make a choice and when I make that choice, I believe in it. Look at Steemit for instance, when I was informed about this, I took ten days to read all about it and my instinct told me it's the right choice. So, I registered.

The day I registered, I told about 30 of my friends to register too. But then, we came in and it wasn't as easy as we thought. The rest gave us long ago but am still holding on cause an confidence I'll swim with the tides. And so far, am not doing badly.

Do you think Jobs's method of giving someone responsibility and confidence could've helped achieve it?

If you can't trust the skills of your partners and workers, you won't go far in business or anything else. My former boss would just give me a task without instructions or guide, he believes in me and I won't want to disappoint him. So, while he's having beer or taking some cool sleep, am toiling the night to present the best cause I wouldn't want to disappoint him or myself. So back to the question, it's a yes straight.

Sort:  

I love that commencement speech and all his speeches for that matter! You could tell from the way he talked that he was a believer and a visionary! That's amazing and keep doing what you're doing - you researched something before diving in which makes you cautious but smart. Once you found that it was a great opportunity, you dove in. Once you dove in and things got tough, you didn't quit. This is exactly how Jobs approached his projects and his products. Things are not always transparent and easy and it shows amazing character to be able to endure when the going gets tough.

That boss did a great job then. You obviously have a strong personal drive and work ethic and that is what matters. Trust is the name of the game and if you can't trust anyone, you won't go very far in life. Thanks for sharing your experience and lessons @lordjames, this is really great stuff!

Ouch, I was just flowing with the words and didn't intend writing another post in your comment. Lol.

Hey, I'm happy you hit your stride and got into a flow state. You added a lot of value to this post and I'm sure a lot of others will agree that they got value out of your comment and experiences! Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17