3 Writing Hacks Every Steemit User Must Know!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

While any monkey could roll over keyboard to type random words, it takes a lot of things to carefully craft a post that would be appreciated by readers.

As you have been writing on steemit from some time, it might have happened that you have spent hours writing and editing a post, still it doesn't get the desired results you have expected.

While the success of a writer depends on the amount of time spent on writing, there are few tricks that every writer use to make high quality posts.

Image Source: Pixabay

So I will show you 3 such tricks that will help you write better articles.


1. Clickbaits.


Image Source: Pixabay

A lot of bloggers use clickbait for unethical purposes. It is a trick of using splashy headings while the content is completely irrelevant to the heading.

Most clickbaits are catchy and provocative headings that user find difficult to resist but often have little or nothing to do with the title. But using clickbait with relevant content could be very helpful to the writer.

You may be outraged at how easy it was to get you to click on this article.

The title of this post was somewhat clickbait. If I have used "Know 3 easy steps to improve your writing" or "3 things to grow you as a writer" fewer people might have clicked on this article.

Every successful writer will agree that clickbait might be annoying but it works.

So, whether you say it a quality title or a clickbait, you have to work out a line that reader can't resist himself from opening the post.


2. Quality.


Image Source: Pixabay

Every established writer will tell you one line,"Quality is the king".

The quality of a post depends upon three things: flow, quantity, and matter.

Every sentence in your post must be in flow from starting to end, i.e the reader must not have any difficulty reading the whole sentence or paragraph in one go.

So how to check if the sentences in your post are in flow or not?

Simply read out loud each sentence of your post. If you could read easily, your post is in flow otherwise you have put some wrong words or excessive commas in it.

Also Hemmingwayapp and Grammarly are two tools that could be used to make easy sentences along with a grammar check in your post.

Along with this, your post must contain some quality knowledge, facts or any other information that must be useful to the readers in some way so that they will also be interested in reading your next post.

The quantity of words in your article must not be too long so that reader may loose interest in between. While it is advised to keep the paragraphs short, the length of article must be a little bit long.

But you should not write random irrelevant words in order to make long articles, a 3-4 paragraph quality article is better than 2000 words. An average good quality post has about 1600 words or maximum read of 7 minutes.


3. Credibility.


Image Source: Pixabay

Research has shown that if you back up your writing with credible sources and facts, your posts will do better.

Like if you write about cryptocurrency analysis, back up those articles with actual graphs from coinmarketcap or coingecko.

You have seen a lot of people use source in their posts. These mentioned sources increase the trust of readers in what author is saying and increases the reputation of author.

You could try it yourself, if you make a post about some breaking news which is unbelievable to most of the people, they will question you if it is true or not. But if you have mentioned some high reputed source they will only be shocked to hear that but will still believe you.

In some cases if you can't use any credible source or fact, you could use an example as I have used above. It will have the same effect.



So from now on, if you use all of these three things in your posts, you could sense better results yourself. 

Do tell me if you have achieved some success by using any of these tricks.

Sort:  

Great post! I especially liked that you mentioned flow and Hemingway Editor.

I hesitate to be "that guy," but I found this sentence delightfully ironic, considering the topic:

Every established writer will say you one line,"Quality is the king".

Yes, even I say that, quality is the king.

Sorry, I was making a bad joke.

What I mean is that the usage of "say" in that sentence does not flow.
These are some ways to make it flow a little better:

Every established writer will tell you one line: "quality is king."
Every established writer will give you one line: "quality is king."
Every established writer will say the same thing: "quality is king."

If you find any other typos, please feel free to comment about it. I love "that guy", that's why I am able to write much better post today than I was writing a few months back.

I love that attitude! Will do =]

...that's why I am able to write much better posts today than I was writing a few months back.

...that's why I am able to write a much better post today than I was writing a few months back.

Sorry, @gruppler started it!

you are taking it too deeply......

I did apologise in advance!

ohhh I missed that.........

Don't take 100% powerup. Take 50-50. Sell SBD-s at an exchange and then buy steem to power up. You get more out of it!

Is it so, well I would try it from my next article, thanks a lot for the suggestion.

Great tips! Thanks for posting :)

Great writing tips!
Getting better at writing is an ongoing process.
I feel I get better for each post I write so that is a big motivational factor for me.
It's also great when someone like you share their tips, that way we all gain from your knowledge and we grow as a community :)

Sure, I always love to help others. Steemit can only be successful if we all grow as a writer. I am still learning, but I share whatever new I learn here.

@looftee great post thanks for the great info

Great post. Very useful for starters like me getting into Steem. Looking forward to starting this journey...

Great post! Still, need to improve my English! Grammarly should be quite helpful for the beginning! upvoted and followed

Thanks a lot.

Great advice

thanks a lot buddy.

You don't have many new posts so I'm checking out your old ones ;-) . See you in the chats.

Yeah, I am quite busy these days. Trying to do a few things out of steemit, so you might not see my articles this month, but I will be somewhat active in chats and will be sure to check out what is going on steemit by checking it once or twice a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51