Compassion, understanding and humanity, how I messed up

in #writing7 years ago

A couple of days ago someone said a thing that appalled me. It was something they said they thought about all of the people in their country. Along the lines of the comments that all the humans in the country are stupid assholes and they should die. It was an ultimate turn-off for a conversation, especially with a person that just contacted me.

13277686_481898392020890_1316703925_n.jpg

Usually people start with small talk and when the question ''where are you from?'' drops, nobody is expecting to receive more than a name. I got so much more... For me the fact that you don't know every person in your country alone excludes the use of ''Everybody''. I can not possibly judge somebody I don't know, heck, it is not usually appropriate to judge somebody you do know. Plus if you are saying that everybody, I repeat, EVERYBODY, is bad in your country, you are saying the same about yourself. You are from the country.

And changing your nationality is not going to change it, you are part of the problem. If your country is really that bad, if you feel compelled to talk about it with a person you just met, why don't you try to do something about it? I am not entirely happy with how my government is running things, I don't live in my country, but I want to return one day, make things better, and I will never call everybody, from the place I come, horrible, dreadful human beings.

Now here is the flip of the coin for me. I wasn't feeling great talking to this person, I may have been harsh, having had a bad day myself, plus I didn't like how he talked about his own people, in the end we are all the same race, we are all human. But as the conversation went on I realized a crucial thing. This person was talking to a lot of people online yet I didn't hear about any real life friends.

I realized not soon enough that he was probably lonely and just needed somebody to put his heart out to. I messed up. You see, I am an emotional person, if somebody rubs me off the wrong way, I will not pretend he didn't. I was cold in talking to this poor soul that just needed someone.

13256965_1625992057722623_228196911_n.jpg

It went like this. When I realized the lonely part of his person I asked a direct question ''Do you have somebody to talk to in rl?'' This got him offended, and I can see why, most people wouldn't like the question. My bad mood, with the bad intro in the conversation didn't end it well for us. I could have formulated my question better... I did explain, that I was worried in a message after, because nobody should be lonely and if he needed talking, I could listen. I am not a huge fan of chatting, sometimes it is great, but most of the time I prefer voice talking.

Long story short, he blocked me, left me a sweet message saying he hoped all the best for me. And that is something that made me feel worse about myself as a person. I realized far too late about what I should have done, I didn't have enough compassion, I am sorry for how cold I was.

Now it is off my chest.

13248906_1016703695043855_1374438288_n.jpg

I hope there are not a lot of people in the world being let down, I certainly am going to try being nicer, more understanding and more open minded. And I can not change what happened, but the future hasn't been set in stone, yet, that is where I can improve every day.

Sort:  

unless I'm missing something here Linda, if that's all you asked, I think he did you a favor by blocking you. Sounds like one of those "energy vampire" types of people. You're giving him your time, yet while he subjects you to accept everything negative that he says, he's "offended" by one simple question and blocks you?!

Sounds like a real douche. If he's looking for someone to agree with everything he says, he should buy a parrot (though even a parrot may be too "opinionated" for him)! lol

For the record, any time you and I might chat, I would only hope you feel comfortable enough to "be yourself" and tell me what you honestly think! :)

Haha, thank you for that encouragement.
I am not a person that keeps my thoughts to myself, so no problems in there, I may have been tough with this person, that's all. And I am not a fan of not being myself, so... :D

I was just thinking the same thing. Thank you for saying it so well already @alexpmorris!

I have spent a lot of time with "complicated" people, often trying to pull them out of their holes and making them feel better. Thing is, many times, there is a reason, why a person is in such a position 🚽

Your post is beautiful and compassionate @lindahas. But is equally important to care about yourself and move away from bad vibes

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I accept :)

Yes, I saw, thank you :)

Oh, thank you! I had forgotten about this post :D

Yeah I was in Holidays so the post came a bit late

Well, I hope you enjoyed the holidays!

"he hoped all the best for me" , This is so painful message :(

I know, made me rally sad :(

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I can't really see that you did something wrong! You lend him a hand and offered to listen to him. That was a great thing to do:-) If I haven't misunderstood the situation in some way.... Great written article!

Aww, we all have our moments. Glad you are the type to learn from them. Thanks for sharing!

Glad to get to know you better.

Thanks for taking the time and reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65599.45
ETH 2648.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87