Short story - The boring everyday life

in #writing7 years ago

I got bored, opened a new Word document and this text just happened.


The other day I took a bus to work, just like I did every day.
I sat down near the window, just like I did every day.
A person I've seen at least a dozen times on this very bus sat next to me, just like a familiar face did every day.
I reached into my pocket for the earphones and plugged them in, just like I did every day.
I turned on the radio, playing the music I don't at all enjoy, just like I did every day.
I then proceeded to open Facebook and began scrolling like a madman, just like I did every day.
Nothing interest, like always, so I opened Instagram and began scrolling again, just like I did every day.
Reddit followed soon after and when that didn't do it, I began reading old text messages, just like I did every day.

At some point it hit me.
I was listening to music I didn't like,
I was browsing social media I didn't enjoy browsing,
I was doing everything in my power to try and not be bored.
Yet I was.
So was I really trying my best not to be bored?
Or was I trying my best to stay in my comfort zone?

As mentioned, the person sitting next to me was always a familiar face.
Yet I never said hi.
Instead, I pulled out my headphones and phone and isolated myself.
Yes. I was good at isolating myself.
Instead of striking a conversation and potentially making a friend, or an acquintance at the very least,
I bubbled myself into the world of social media where I talked with people miles away instead of people right next to me.
I realised then and there that technology and all the gadgets and social media made us drift further away than ever,
all while sitting so close to each other our shoulders were touching.

I looked at the person next to me and they were doing the exact same thing I was.
Listening to music they probably didn't like,
pointlessly browsed social media, scrolling furiously with their thumb,
and occasionaly wrote a text or two to a random person they probably didn't even like.

I took out my headphones and greeted the person sitting next to me.
Surely enough, they didn't hear me because of the headphones, but I was determined to talk to them.

I tapped their shoulder to get their attention and they pulled the earphone out of their ear.

"Yeah?" They asked, visibly irritated.

"Hi."

"Do we know each other?"

"Not yet, but we sit next to each other often and I just thought to strike up a conversation. I'm @lenapena by the way, and you?" I continued and extended my arm toward them for a handshake.

"@random12345, nice to meet you. Listen, I'm in the middle of something here, but feel free to add me on Facebook and we can talk some there." And they plugged their earphone right back into their ear before I could even reply.

Needless to say, they went back to pointlessly browsing social media.

Social.
Media.

Social.

It sickens me to see how far we've steered away from actual human contact and rely solely on the so called "social" media.

We are physically closer than ever, but mentally ever further apart.

Sort:  

Very great story. It is true that we are often doing things we are bored of because we do not feel secure enough to comunicate. It is also depending on the general mood. Sometimes, especially now in winter, people are rather exhausted and feel unable to communicate because of the cold or because they are tired. Not enough light. Also everyone usually is going somewhere when they are in public space. People do not hang out at places anymore and yes, even on the way to somewhere they isolate. Good observations, bad tendencies. I am waiting for summer, then people are talking to each other again, at least sometimes. Resteemed and Followed :)

Thank you! I'm very happy you like it!
I think my town that's relatively small is still quite okay.. I remember when I was in London... Oh my. It's just downright scary! People are always in a hurry, everyone has earphones, nobody even says sorry when they bump into you, it's like.. everyone lives a completely separate, isolated life. It just made me feel lonely in the middle of a large crowd.

Might be a little due to winter, but the same stuff is happening in summer also.. but perhaps you're right and it's happening to a lesser degree.

I prefer summer also, at least I'm not going to work at night and coming back home at night... The lack of sunlight, as you mentioned, surely does play a role on one's morale.

Thanks for the follow and resteem! Following back! :D

Congratulations @lenapena! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66