Sites To Find Screenplays That Help You Grow As A Writer

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

After being intrigued after watching 'Before I Fall' then ended up flipping through the book, I decided to undertake a writing exercise and do a draft for a pilot script.


After the second draft, I really got excited and wanted to see where this thread took me. Would It lead me to being associated with the headline "Fanfic gets optioned for TV Pilot"? I have no idea! That's what's exciting about following threads. 


Off the top of my head, I don't think I have direct contacts to the producers who I think would be a great fit to develop the ideas in the script. That's okay, because if I had learned something from 'Snowden', it is...sometimes the right person is likely 2-3 hops away from one of my contacts. It also helps that I've recently re-listened to Blake Mycoskie recount the different threads he followed that led him to interesting ventures, and ultimately to TOMS. 


1.) Award Giving Bodies

After coming across a link to a script to the site, I did a generic search. Then found these two pages with scripts from 2017 and 2015 nominees.


2.) Various Studios

Now, I wasn't sure if it was a link from a site (maybe it was from The Blacklist), that led me to try to do a search. For example, if you do a search on Fox Searchlight's site, you may be able to find a script or two.


3.) Screenwriting Sites

The Blacklist has a page of a collection of scripts (including script reading analysis posts), while LA Screenwriter also has a variety of scripts (like 'Better Call Saul' and 'Friday Night Lights'). 


4.) Schools

One source is Drexel University's screenplay library. After having a quick look, it includes both TV and Film. What I like about this collection is that the scripts live in the Drexel site, compared to other sites which link externally.  



Note 1: One important thing about PDF files though, is that they are known to have vulnerabilities. Don't forget to do a check before opening one of them. Because the last thing you'd want is to have a keylogger in your device!


Note 2: Though my rule of thumb is watching 'M' shows and below, there are a number of scripts in these sites that are over that rating. Just in case you are a parent wanting to know if these sites are okay for your kids.


Photo by Vincent Buuron 


 
You are more than welcome to include links that have helped 'level up' your writing skills as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! Feedback is welcome here


For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark (@steevc), that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts. 


Search Terms: Film School / Writing Exercises / Creativity / Reference / Teleplay / Pilot Script / Spec Script

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @leighlim to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01