You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teachings of the rain [Day 40]

in #writing6 years ago

I often wonder if I should do more experiments like these. I think I've only written one proper sonnet in my whole life, and though the result wasn't awful, it didn't really inspire me to write more. I know a lot of influential poets from the modernist movement wrote sonnets daily, as a kind of writing exercise, though they often published none or very few of them.

It seems there must be something worthwhile in that self-inflicted stricture... I think the key is setting limitations, so that in the process of overcoming them you learn more about the craft, widening your toolset to give you more options when writing in the future.

/ramble

I'd say this experiment was a success. Your distinctive, ethereal style still shines through. The shortening line lengths bolster it, in fact, giving the impression of a voice climbing higher and higher, only to crash back again at the start of the next stanza.

Phrases like 'a-tapping morse in code' and 'make me take another road' are reminiscent of Poe and Frost, suggestive of a voice trying to place itself within the poetic tradition. There's a lot going on here! A lot of inner conflict, which the irregular rhyme scheme reflects.

It's a commendable thing stepping outside your comfort zone - thank you for sharing the results :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35