The biggest challenge to creativity

in #writing5 years ago

Some time ago, I made an attempt at writing a book. Wow, that was difficult. Amidst the research, brainstorming, breaking down and creating characters, I lost my motivation. By then I hadn't even started actually writing the book. What a disappointment I am.

I still pushed on and started writing. Paragraph after paragraph, my writing started sounding wrong to me. After completing my first chapter, I felt like my initial idea was wrong, no one would like the book. I saw so many mistakes in the book I had just started and lost hope. It sounded too desperate, vivid description here and things like that. Don't get me wrong, I still plan on writing the book, but I'll start when I have a nice place to write without any distractions. I know it sounds like an excuse but I'll live with that.

As I kept on correcting myself ,it turns out I was overthinking on how the perfect book should be. I had such high hopes that it would become a great book that I set too-high standards for myself as a beginner. I just came to find all this out after giving up. After a while came the depressing wishes. If only I could afford a literary agent. If only I could find a mentor to coach me. In that time, all the thoughts of writing an amazing bestselling book and getting famous were crushed and the writing process became more of a burden rather than a passion.

As I was reflecting on this, I was reminded of the saying, The first step is always the hardest. Although I don't remember who said that but whoever they were, they were right. I now see a lot I could have done right, so many mistakes that could be fixed but I'd rather not return just yet. This is the same way I made the mess I am in at the moment.

For now I have decided to study all it to write a complete book then practice patiently as I go on. Although I understand that I am overthinking on things, I just can't help it, I want it to be perfect. I understand that perfect is non-existent but it's hard to change so much in so little time. I plan on taking it slow and seeing how it goes. After all, I'm very confident in the basis of my book. And thus, I must finish it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lasso254! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62886.34
ETH 2448.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64