You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The comment powered post initiative (The CPPI) - Comment Power for All!

in #writing8 years ago

You know that comments are now worth more because most of the whales are not voting, right? Hopefully HF17 will include the non-compounded vote weighting algorithm for rewards and this will become normal.

Sort:  

Yes, I assumed it was something to do with this. That and the ongoing flagging perhaps?

I am excited to see what happens after HF17, but I wonder when it will actually take place?

Yup, the flagging was not against posts but against whale votes. A lot of people got upset because their applecarts were upturned but a lot more people have seen a noticable increase in the bottom range of post rewards. Which means I am pretty sure that the days of ultra destructive Whale Flags are numbered. I am pleased because I got slapped by a whale a long way back that turned a hundreds reward into nearly nothing (both an unvote and then a flag) and my rep fell to 10 just on this.

It's not right that their power is so amplfied. Whales tend to also be outsiders to the discussion so this kind of power is unjust.

Crazy. I had no idea such things were going on. That is fairly extreme. Also, I had no idea they could affect your rep like that.

And yes, I have seen how the whales tend to be the outsiders.

I feel however as if times are changing now, so hopefully the platform will find a way to distribute rewards fairly.

Something that people don't understand is it is not at all to do with fairness. The way that your vote is not one per person, but one per steem, most 'egalitarian' types would find to be most capitalistic and pig-dog-ish. But within the 'your money talks' rules about how votes are counted in Steem, currently if you can put $25,000 into your account, your voice is amplified over 1000x someone with under $1000. In my opinion this is absurd, and I hope that this is going to be changed soon.

This compounding effect in vote counting is precisely an idea from @dantheman, so now he is gone, maybe this will be fixed. Nearly all the things wrong with the architecture of Steem (and most are already now fixed) were his ideas. There is more revelations coming about what was going on behind the scenes soon, I hope that this airing of dirty laundry is going to leave our house clean and become more inviting for new people to come in and join the party!

We gotta stay positive hey. Interesting to hear that these ideas were Dan's. Perhaps as you say, now that he is gone things will change.

Whilst I was aware that Steem Power relates directly to curation rewards, I had never stopped to think about how this is so evidently a problem. It makes no sense at all that people can simply buy their way in to a whale status.

Thank you for sharing this thought with me. Better times ahead for all of us :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62781.37
ETH 2461.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64