Ch. 9 (Reaching for Sky)

in #writing8 years ago

Chapter 9

I walked the very extensive yet, peaceful ten-mile hike home--crashing against my mattress by dawn. I needed a moment to absorb the fact that I made it. Out of breath but conscious, I caught a second wind that left me wired and curious. Sky made a habit of crossing my mind every time I got high and I wanted to know why.
“You're up late?”
“I could say the same... Can't sleep?”
“Nah. Trying to calm down. Lol.”
“What's going on?”
I smiled to myself as I wrote back. "Had to walk ten miles home."
"Did you piss her off?"
I was sort of surprised that Sky came to that conclusion. "What gave you that impression?"
"Kind of obvious. It's super late--well, early, and either you passed out at a friend's and forgot to call home, or went home with someone and it didn't work out."
"I could be homeless." I joked. "Okay, so maybe you're right. So what?"
"You're crazy. Lol."

You can guess we talked back and forth for hours and I couldn't hate myself for not getting any sleep. Casual through conversation but addictive after the seventh consecutive night of bullshitting unto the wee hours of the morning. A slight shift in my forecast and I didn't skip a beat that week. I needed the space; an outlet to disconnect with the rest of the world. And damn, did it feel good.

The following day…

Walking into work, Tiffany's eyes shifted in my direction but I didn't make meet them. I continued to stride on by, making my way to Mr. Rick’s office. Tiffany and I haven’t spoken in days and Nicki has been M.I.A. for awhile now. Perhaps charlie secured that choke chain and I was a little caught up in trying something new. Dismissing our stare-off, Trent forced me into going back up to the lobby and give Tiffany the work order for our next project. He claimed it'd give us a moment to talk. All right then, asshole.

My shoulders were stiff and my chest was erect the moment she came into view. “Here,” I said dryly.
Tiff inhaled through her nostrils, arching a brow in displeasure. “Thanks.”
I rolled in my bottom lip with a nod because what else was I supposed to say? She was disheartened and the fact has already been discovered. The sore silence punched me in the gut with guilt and I fought from prying but damn it, she made it unbearable to just walk away. “That’s it? That’s all you’re going to say to me?”
Tiffany gave a bothersome sigh, shaking her head. “What else do you want me to say, Mali?” Her hands smacked the desktop with abrupt ire--fingers sprawled and ticking jowl muscles. I held my tongue for a small moment, waiting for her to tell me to go--but she didn't. She wanted to meet my gimlet eyes, but not through defeat.

“I don’t know? You haven’t tried getting ahold of me in like what? A week now?”
“I do believe communication goes both ways.”
“You were upset, so I gave you your space.”
Tiff rolled her eyes with a false giggle. “We aren't together. It was my mistake for letting everything get to me like I did. It's embarrassing actually." Tiff's eyes narrowed to slits, drawing a pen back to fixate her fidgeting fingertips. "And I wasn't upset that you never told me about--your ex...I was jealous of how she empowers you in the way I only wish I could."
"Me and Nicki--we're over." I pressed for her belief--perhaps to believe the truth, myself. "She's a fragment of my past that I let come back to haunt me."
"Though you still have strong feelings towards her--I see it." Tiffany raised her eyes to meet mine. "You are such an ass...but I had some time away to reassess and I realized that I do not want things to end like that--even if we only stay friends, I want you around." A smirk tugged at her right cheek.
"I--uh--better get back before they send a search team."
"You do that."

Trenton and I had two back to back jacuzzi installations which took no time in finishing. That afternoon, I cashed my check at the same gas station Charlie and his minions left me for dead. I didn't allow fear to keep me hidden from doing what I needed to. Flashbacks triggered with each step made to enter the store but I kept on going. I couldn’t help but to repeatedly look out of the front doors while standing in line. It was nerve-racking needless to say. I raised my shoulders, cracking my neck trying to mentally shake away the worry. Luckily, this time, I brought backup.
Hurdle jumping into the bed of Trent's truck, I gave the side a firm smack as he sped off to Johnny’s. We found him inside his garage working on the repairs for my motorcycle. It was nice having a friend who knew everything about vehicle mechanics. As long as I paid him with some side cash and bud, he didn’t mind helping me out.

“How’s it coming, Johnny?”
He looked up baring a cigarette between his lips. “Very well. All I have left is to replace the rearview mirrors and get a new gas tank. Everything else is finished.”
I squatted down beside him, examining the nearly remodeled cycle. “It looks great, Johnny! Thank you so much.” Tossing his zip-lock of payment to Trent, I motioned for him to pack a bowl while I stepped outside to accompany Johnny while he finished his smoke.
He was delighted to hear about my girl troubles. “So this whole time you were fucking both Tiffany and Nicki? I'm rather impressed."
“Honestly, I think Tiff was more upset about why I wouldn't get rough with her during sex.”
I felt his eyes land on the side of my face. "What is it with you and that freakshow shit?"
I gave him a playful shove in return. “Screw you, Johnny. In my defense, I liked it when Nicki and I were together. Now? Not so much.”
"Maybe you're finally letting that part of you go, brother." He flicked his finished butt down the driveway, reentering the garage. Sandy immediately curled up in his lap for a nap while he plopped down into the recliner, rocking her to sleep.
“Ha, watch this.” He said cupping one of her ears.
We all stared intently while he blew smoke into that poor dog’s ear, tilted his head back for a long laugh.
“That’s so inhumane, Johnny.” Trent laughed.
“But she’ll be high as fuck."

Sandy ended up disappearing somewhere outside within the hour. My guess was she more than likely passed out after wandering around the yard aimlessly. As night fell, we all sat baked off our asses while playing video games. My attention was suddenly drawn to what sounded like brakes squeaking to a stop. Johnny must've heard it too, shushing our conversation as a chrome .45 gleamed under the lighting. Cocking its hammer back, he lurked out to the driveway to better investigate. The rest of us got up to follow as Johnny whistled for Sandy to come about.
My eyes scanned from left to right and remember being startled by my own breathing. The curbside baroque lamp burned out, leaving a lightless street as I spotted a car sitting stationary at the stop sign across the way.
"Whose car is that?" My heart began to race--I was scared like I've never been before as the hairs of my neck stood up.
Johnny called for Sandy once more, picking up his pace with eagerness to find her. It was unlike her to not respond after the second summon. Eventually, the guys and I were scattered about the entire premises, searching for Sandy. I shone an old camping lantern over a large object that tripped me while running. Glancing downward, I then realized the object was indeed a furry stump and I stopped breathing. Kneeling down, I ran my fingers through Sandy's coat, gaining no response. I couldn't imagine something happening to her--I mean, did she choke on something? Did she get bit by something? The damn dog was still fairly warm and it soured my stomach as I struggled to find words.
“Guys...” My voice shook. “Over here!”
The guys ran into one another, turning the corner of the garage to meet me.
“Oh no...” Johnny’s voice rose in frequency.
He knelt down beside me, scooping up his limp dog to bring her into the lighting of the garage. Plopping down into his favorite recliner, Johnny's eyes watered while clutching Sandy into his chest.
“Do you think it’s because I got her high?” Tears were rolling down his face to the point he was sniveling.
“Holy fuck, I thought she was just sleeping?”Jacoby confessed through a sob of his own.
I ran my hands through my hair, feeling pain swell inside my heart. I honestly had no clue of what to do at that point.
“I don’t believe that to be true…” Colton said, kicking an empty bottle of Anti-freeze into the light. "Not in the slightest."
Eyes bounced around, looking at one another with mixed emotions.
“Johnny,” My voice lowered. “Truth be told, this shit right here is odorless but its taste is sweet to any animal, the result always ends in fatality.”
Johnny squalled even harder.
Trent studied the bottle's label. "Why would anyone want to harm an innocent dog?"
Shoving my fists deep into my pockets, I leaned against the opening of the garage, staring out towards the stop sign where the once parked car had now vanished. "Who said it was innocent?"

The following day…

I was off from work and had everyone meet back at Johnny’s for Sandy's burial. I didn't eat and I hardly slept the night before. Every passing vehicle whose headlights burned through my blinds, instantly, had my eyes wide open. Someone was out to get a beatdown and I had a strong feeling I knew exactly who it was.
The air whispered vengeance through its violent gusts as Johnny stood over the hole he spent all morning digging up. I slid my shades over my tired eyes to hide darkening circles and the sight of the lumpy trash bag that concealed Sandy's remains. I did everything I could to ignore the urge of wanting to look down. I just wanted to get this over with.
Johnny’s posture remained prominently slumped, gripping a half emptied bottle whiskey in his fist. He gave it a tip, pouring some over his deceased companion.
“Raised you from a pup, had you for six amazing years. I will avenge your parting from this world. And may those fuckers pay for what they’ve done. I love you baby girl. Rest in peace.” Johnny passed what was left in the bottle to each of us as we took a shot. It goes without saying who was responsible for doing this, so all we needed now was a proper plan of vengeance.
And do believe me when I say, it'll be ours.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=kyla+m.+wassil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46