Ch. 16 (Reaching for Sky) The finale! Epilogue included.

in #writing8 years ago

Chapter 16

I lay awake listening to Colton’s restless breathing dismissing through the uncanny air. As shallow as it sounded, I rolled over the railing of his bunk bed, disturbing his already developed irritability to sleep.
“Pst... Colton. You awake?”
“Am now...” He groaned.
“Oh please, like your ass was asleep, to begin with.”
He tossed off his blankets with a huff. “You’re right, I just can’t sleep. Especially knowing one of my best friends is leaving me tomorrow for some bangin’ ass chick. I’m so jealous, and all that while my pathetic ass yearned for her to follow me on PhotoMac.” He laughed.
“Hey, I need a damn escape and she offered me one.”
“I don’t blame you, I’m thinking about getting back into school.”
“For what?”
“Mechanical engineering.”
A pause ensued before realizing he was serious.
“Wow, that’d be pretty awesome!”
“I’m smarter than you guys give me credit for. I passed school with straight A’s but hung with you guys because we shared common home life situations. In fact, at graduation, I refused to wear my honor ropes and kept them in my pocket because I didn’t want you all hounding me. I like staying under the radar--I watch everyone around me, taking mental notes on their actions and body language. People’s emotions and mannerisms can tell you a lot about a person if you pay close enough attention. I see things other people overlook.”
My brain scrambled for words to say, but none were found. I laid still against the mattress, listening to the brilliant ideas he kept hidden inside of his head. Before I knew it, my alarm was ringing in my ear.
“It’s six o’clock already? Fuck!”

Colton helped me pack up all that I could board with and decided to roll us a joint while we waited on Trenton.
“I really am going to miss you, Mali. Be safe out there, all right?”
“Always, brother. This isn’t goodbye forever.”
“By the way, what the hell do you plan on doing with that bike of yours? I know your suitcase isn’t some Mary Poppins shit.”
“Glad you asked.” I reached inside my pocket, grabbing the keys. “It’s yours now.”
“Are you serious? I have never even been on one, dude. How the fuck do you expect me to ride it?”
“It’s simple. Learn, brother. I’m quite sure that ingenious brain of yours can figure it out in no time.” I squeezed his shoulder.
Trenton’s truck came tearing down the road as we stood to our feet.
“Look at you potheads already getting stoned and shit.” He reached out for a hit. “We’d better get going, don’t want you to miss your flight.”

I went ahead and sent a text to Sky, letting her know I was about to board the plane. She wished me a safe flight and said she’d be waiting at the airport when I landed. I laid my luggage on the conveyer belt, giving the guys one final hug and peering over Trenton’s shoulder, Jacoby made his way through a crowd of people--wheaten whiskers comforting his jawline and a shaved head, his mouth leaned a left corner smile.
“Holy shit, where the hell have you been hiding at?”
“I’ve been around, doing some shit for my brother since he is unable to do it himself.”
“Who told you about when I’d be here?”
He glanced toward Colton. “Eh-- I figured I’d show my face so you could leave with a clear conscience.”
“I appreciate the consideration, you punk.”
I gave the guys a huge group hug as the intercom announced the boarding of my flight. I unlatched from their embrace, heading down the terminal to my plane.
“I am going to miss you all. I will see you again soon!” I waved, feeling my heart sink.
Once the pilot cleared us for takeoff, I put in my headphones to drown out the nerves that ran eager hands up my throat.

My eyes opened to the passenger next to me drawing up the sunscreen, letting the sun's radiance warm my face.
“Are we there already?” I raised my shoulders, cracking my neck.

The stranger nodded, pulling her arm back. I squinted at the city down below as excitement fluttered inside my ribcage. My ears popped while we descended, bouncing twice against my seat from the landing. Hands trembled and my heartbeat spazzed like a needle on a scale. The flight attendant instructed all passengers to grab our overhead carry-ons and to fall in line to exit the plane in an orderly fashion. From overbearing nerves, my knees shook with each step, causing me to stumble once my feet touched asphalt.
I stood anxiously waiting by the conveyor belt to grab my luggage, panting like an asthmatic. As my suitcase came into view, I pushed past an elderly woman, begging her pardon while taking a hold of its handle. I couldn't control myself over the thought of finally experiencing what it felt like to have her against me, hearing her voice and her laugh and those eyes capturing me for the first time. Whew. I took a deep breath, rounding the corner as the room opened, flooding with people rushing to get to their destination. I scanned through the throng moving bodies trying to find Sky in the colorful labyrinth. The moment we all hear about and even talk about as we grow older and gain knowledge on how love really is. It’s rumored that we should feel our heart skip a beat and buckle at the knees after going weak from a single look. The moment you catch yourself staring at them unlike anyone else you have ever looked at in your lifetime. All sound and conversation around me muffled as my eyes landed on a squared off pillar holding up my heartthrob who anxiously twiddled her thumbs. She was breathtaking--paralyzing by sight and she was mine.
“Sky!” My voice carried.
Her head turned in my direction and she took off, running towards me. I dropped my luggage just before she leaped into my arms. Burrowing my face into her neck, breathing her in, my scruff lightly brushed against her skin, sending a giggle into my ear.
“Thank you,” I said softly.
Her cheeks pulled up into a smile while curiosity danced across her face. “For what, exactly?”
“For saving me...”

Her hands slid down from around my neck, grabbing either side of my face, touching her lips to mine. I intensified the gesture by pulling her up onto my waist, weakening as hands traveled through my hair. This was what it should feel like, right? Loving someone at the moment of first sight. God. Blissful and indescribable, I was right where I needed to be. Sky was the escape I’ve only dreamt of my entire life and now that she was in my arms, I dared myself to never let go.

“Life isn’t measured by the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. Love cannot be justified by finding a person who accepts you and all of your rough edges but is defined by finding that one person who sees past your flaws and loves you through the scars you bare. Someone that carries the patience to know your secrets and the exposal of your demons but never turns away--no matter the ugliness or the darkness--they are your light. The only person who never leaves, even when you make a mistake. They are your every inhale, your every move, burying all of your fears, encouraging the will to live happily. You defend their honor if ever asked where you saw your life years from now and proudly say, with her...”

Epilogue:

Six months later...

I roll over to Sky lying on her side, naked beneath the sheets. I gently ran my fingertips across the smooth of her shoulder blade, watching her twitch from the sensation. Leaning in closer, I pressed the warmth of my lips against her flesh, dragging them down her arm. She quietly moaned, squirming more and more as I ran my tongue up her neck, delicately sinking my teeth in. Reached back, getting a hand full of my hair, chill bumps armored her ribcage as my hand glided down in between her legs. Sky took in a deep breath rolling onto her back, granting permission to continue. The eighth time in just one day--I still couldn't get enough. I positioned myself above her, kissing her until nails dug into my back. Pressing my hips into her pelvis, Sky's legs wrapped around me as I hardened against moisten flesh. Enjoying each kiss she placed upon my neck and shoulder, I throbbed at the heat from her breath that grazed past my ear.
“I want you inside of me.” She whispered.

The look in her eyes was enough to kill a man. Shoving me over, she straddled me, craving control as I lied underneath--flexed and enticed. I watched her movement become lithesome with each roll, meanwhile keeping my hands on her hips to hold her steady. At first, it seemed like she was testing herself to see how long she could hold out. But it wasn’t long before she began trembling, losing her breath as her body fell weak against my chest. In a brief silence, my mind began to wander, like it always does.
“What made you take a chance on me?”
Rested on my chest, Sky rested her chin in her palm looking me in the eyes.
“Because, you didn’t throw yourself at me. It was apparent you may have wanted something more but it was never overbearing. You respected my space and you stand different from anyone else I've been with.”
“I can accept that.” I leaned in kissing her forehead.
She then kissed down my chest, running her nails up and down the inside of my thigh.
“Round two?” I groaned and my phone began ringing.

“Fuck. I should have silenced it.”
“I don’t care, don’t stop!” Sky panted.
I attempted to continue but the anonymous caller was persistent.
“God dammit, hold on, baby.”
I reached over, grabbing my cell phone from the side table hearing an automated voice on the other end. It was a call from the Bayside State Prison. I accepted the call watching Sky’s expression become obscure.
"Johnny?” My voice echoed.
“You know, it gets rather boring and tedious being trapped within these cinder block walls every fucking day while you get to enjoy your freedom--doing whatever your little heart desires. I hid away the weapons we used that night and gave my lawyer a call revealing their location. My honesty granted a reduced sentence with parole and they are on a mission to recover the murder weapons for evidence. Once they remove the fingerprints and match them, they will be coming after you. I figured I’d give you a head start...so start running, brother.” His exhale crackled through the receiver and I felt faint.

My heart slowed in my chest and the color drained from my face. Sky asked what was wrong, trying to grab my attention but I couldn't focus. I was scared and sick to my stomach. I fought to speak but my vocal cords refused to correspond. I reached to grab Sky by the arm as the room’s lighting faded in and out. Crashing like glass, the phone fell from my hand just as quickly as my body met the floor.

To be continued...

https://www.facebook.com/KylaM.Wassil

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=kyla+m.+wassil

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

Great chapter, I've just finished reading it! I will read all the previous ones too.
Thanks for sharing this great post, Kyzer.
Upvoted & Followed you as well.

And I shall return the favor! Thank you so much for the support. It means everything.- Kyzer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69