Tales from the Whitethorn: The Salmon of Knowledge

in #writing6 years ago

I spent my life in quest of knowledge, studying laws of the world and men. The path of the druids was an anchor. Over the years, I understood the interweaving of nature, existence, and magic. Nevertheless, I found no rest; although, people said I knew more about the secrets of birds and animals, plants, and stars than anyone alive did. I wanted more and craved to merge into the core of comprehension to know the possibilities of all things. It seemed the more facts condensed into memory, the more there was to discover.
Reluctantly, at the request of his mother, I took Fionn as my student. I valued my solitude under the shade of the nine enchanted hazel trees overhanging a deep pool on the river Boyne where the elusive salmon swam. The boy agreed to clean my hut and cook my meals in return for instruction, and it was not long before Fionn proved an eager student. I thought him secrets of nature and its animals, the science of the stars, the lyrical cadence of poetry, and the way of the warrior. Soon even my store of wisdom proved a challenge to satisfy the curiosity of young Fionn.
“Master Finnegas, Is it really possible to know everything?” Fionn asked.
“When I was young I asked the same question. Then I discovered the druidic prophesy about a Salmon of Knowledge living in a deep dark pool shaded by nine magic hazel trees.”
“I don’t understand. How could a salmon have knowledge and if it did how could a man get that knowledge from the fish?”
“The salmon acquired the entire world’s knowledge by consuming a nut from each of the nine magical hazel trees. According to druidic prophesy, the salmon’s wisdom will transfer to the one who eats it.”
“That is why you live by this pool. You mean to land the fish. Master, I will help you in your quest. Each day I will watch the river for you.”
I never doubted Fionn’s sincerity. I thought him the secrets of druidic tradition and the ways of the warrior. Fionn was an open vessel, agile in body and mind; I was amazed how quickly he learned the art of the spear and sword. He brought luck because my long years of pursuing the Salmon of Knowledge were over when one day Fionn called excitedly from the river.
When I cast my line I immediately felt it tug, but the struggle had only begun and I fought for hours before I landed the magnificent salmon. Despite my exhaustion, I dance with joy, and ordered Fionn to prepare a fire to cook the fish while I regained my strength through sleep. On no account was he to eat even a morsel of the salmon. Fionn gave his solemn promise. But when he awoke me with the cooked salmon, I knew from the light in his eyes that something was wrong.
“Have you eaten any of the salmon?”
“No, I promised I wouldn’t.” He paused and looked to the grass. “But as I was turning the fish on the spit a blister bubbled on its shin. I tried to burst it, but the hot shin burned my thumb, so I put it in my mouth to ease the pain. It was then …”
“You have tasted the Salmon of Knowledge; therefore, the prophesy is fulfilled through you. I can teach you no more, for you are wiser that anyone. Go fulfill your destiny with my blessing.”
Now death’s finger beacons to reclaim my old dried-up body. I hold no resentment toward Fionn. The only crumb of substance worth possessing is knowing the very knowledge I sought so diligently has narrowed itself into an array of facts and figures. Fittingly, its tenets have impaled my intellect on its rigid hook leaving me drained of the blood of desire. Now in my last hours I am wide open to the vast expanse of nothingness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32