The last task

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Creative Writing Challenge: Addiction

The end of the challenge is the night before my birthday, woo-hoo! I am obsessed with celebrating life. So much so, that I go above and beyond for my day of birth. Maybe I’m addicted to life. How fitting is it that our last challenge is about addiction.

The Rules

Pick a name, addiction, and solution from the list. I choose Nancy, Netflix, and friends. I picked Nancy because the name reminds me of a very friendly boss my mom had. The addiction is Netflix because it is my escape when reality bores me. Lastly, I chose friends as the solution because friends build a bridge of trust and encouragement that can’t always be found. With that said, when it is found, it is the greatest gift.

The Challenge

Write a story of a man or a woman fighting an addiction. Details to consider: adding the stage of addiction, social status, marital status, profession, location, time, and age.

The Story

Task Number Nine: Addiction

What started as a pastime left her behind.

It rained today. As Julia grabs her raincoat and heads for the door.

“What are you doing today, Nancy?” asks Julia. Julia asks in passing. She is heading out the door to go to work. She always waits by the door until Nancy answers, always waiting, always hoping the answer will be different.

When it’s not, she leaves with a heavy heart and deep sigh.

“I’m just going to finish my show, one last season, I promise!” lies Nancy.

As the door shuts behind Julia, Nancy sighs with relief, finds her spot on the couch and plans her day. It’s a beautiful day outside. Perfect day for a swim, she thinks. There is something peaceful about swimming in the pool, she thought.

Sixteen hours later, Julia comes home from work. She has brought a few friends along with her, hoping this will help. The first few times she invited people, they all came. She invited them over a few times. The numbers decrease with each invitation.

Nancy is in the same position as when Julia left that morning. After one too many hours spent in front of the T.V., she is here, but she isn't at the same time. Half here, half asleep, and fully aware that the pain she feels was unmatched by anyone surrounding her. It’s a lack of effort on their part. It’s a lack of effort on her part. It is her new normal. She doesn’t know how to do anything else.

With big smiles, the group says, “Hi, Nancy!”

They all blend together at this point. Each takes her turn cleaning around the house, cleaning Nancy, and attempting to respond to the short-comings.

Nancy turns to her friend of ten years with deep eyes and asks a series of questions.

“Michelle, do you wake up every morning with a smile? Do you feel the joy of the Lord with the rise of the sun? When you pray do you feel warm and fuzzy feelings or do you read that book first?”

Michelle turns to Nancy and smiles.

Michelle takes a soft breath and responds.

“Asking for help is like smiling, Nancy. It starts with a thought. It becomes a challenge and it ends with either performing the action or not.”

Nancy would normally roll her eyes and start the next show at this point. This time she doesn’t. She pulls herself up, pulling her legs underneath her and swaying as she attempts to stand.

Michelle holds her hand.

Nancy welcomes her invitation.

Michelle smiles. “Progress, not perfection, my dear. Let’s walk wherever your feet lead you.”

The end…

Thank you @aleister for the graphics!

aleister.gif

Sort:  

Netflix addiction is pretty rough. I think I went through it though and just binge watched everything so that I wouldn't go back to it. :)

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thanks for awesome post. I have followed, upvoted and resteem your post. Just follow me and upvote this comment for future upvote and resteem for your post

I was expecting it to be darker, but it ended well. Good dialogue, good story!

You told me to walk away from the dark side, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94