ZOMBIE Horror. 'Empty Bodies' by Zach Bohannon [Spoiler-free Review]

in #writing8 years ago

61l1H 96PfL

I’ve seen a lot of Zach Bohannon’s work posted around recently. As an indie horror author myself I guess it was only a matter of time before I stumbled across Zach’s work.

So behold my excitement when I saw a promotion for 'Empty Bodies'!)

Now, straight off the bat, I should mention that I’ve read a lot of post-apoc zombie-type thrillers that alter perspective and run several parallel storylines this year. (After all, I’m looking for inspiration for my own take on this sort of story). So after reading the synopsis I was half-expecting myself to find just another version of this type of story.

However, I was marvellously surprised. The story was fun, intelligent, with each character offering a very different take on their version of events. Though there were elements of the story that should have really been predictable, there was enough excitement and distraction to truly inject these twists and turns and keep them coming. At the end there was even a moment when I smiled and palmed my own forehead on the bus, not quite believing that I couldn’t see it coming.

Though the ‘Empties’ are the core centrepoint of this book, there is enough in the way of authentic characters and their development to make them take a seat in the second row. As much as I was intrigued by what the hell was going on (I mean, where did they come from? What’s ‘the fall’? Huh?!), I was strung along by believable characters at a great pace that made me want to keep reading.

If you’re looking for a series to invest in, I’d certainly say there’s a lot of merit here. In a very ‘Walking Dead’ vibe, but with a bit more investment in making the characters feel more like ‘everyday’ types. I certainly will be going through the next books, and, if this is anything to go by, they can only get better.

Definitely a great series to sink your teeth in to.

9/10

*Have you read this book? Know another series worth reading? Get in touch and let me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69671.74
ETH 3835.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49