The BEST 5 Albums to Help You Write [A playlist for Authors]

in #writing8 years ago

shutterstock_93888712

There are three types of people in the world. Those who listen to music whilst they’re writing, and those who can count.

There’s something therapeutic about listening to music. Whether that’s in the car, on the way to work, at work, at home, in the bath [DON’T DROP YOUR IPOD!], or even while you sleep. A lot of writers also find it useful to listen to music during intense writing sessions. Why? Well that’s a story for another time.

I know that writing can often be genre-dependent. But I find some of my favourites work for any kind of tale I’m writing.

For now, here are my top songs that get my creative juices flowing.

ALAN WAKE


A great steady mix of ambience, with a wee bit of spooky atmosphere in there too. I find this has a great balance without being overwhelming, so as to not distract you from your writing funk.

THE LORD OF THE RINGS


A classic in anyone’s collection. Though there is a mix of dark and light, there’s plenty to play with to help you through any kind of seen. I mean, have you seen the films? They’ve got all the feels in there!

THE LAST OF US


Similar to Alan Wake, The Last of Us is just easy listening. There are no distracting inflections, only the steady sound of atmosphere, woodwind, and the occasional bassy drum.

THE WITCHER 3


Great for fantasy writing, and sci-fi scenes. There’s a kind of medieval feel to this album, but dependent on your mood, it works just to put you in your creative bubble and let you work.

THE ELDER SCROLLS: SKYRIM


Can sometimes be distraction (when the choir kicks in), but I just fell in love with this album from the off. Some great racy beats, some steady atmospheres, just… yum!

Have you listened to any of these yet? Do you have a favourite track? Then let me know! I’m always after new sounds to get me in the mood to make love with some paper…

(Oh, and grab a free book over at www.hawkandcleaver.com !)

Sort:  

If you are into a tragic mood the soundtrack to Kurowasas film: RAN is good and if you are in a sad mood Tokemitsu's requiem. The are not running for hours, though ;) I wrote about them here on steemit the other day and got to think of them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42