4 Reasons Why I Chose the Indie Writer Life [Advice for Writers]

in #writing8 years ago

profile

It’s 2016. We all know the score by now. There are two dominating routes into the world of writer-stardom. You can either apply to the publishing giants in the hopes of a mega contract, or you can go it alone, and do it yourself.

When I first started my writing journey back in 2014, I hadn’t really considered the end game. I went to a writers group, I enjoyed telling stories, but I never had anything finished and ready. It would take a full year before I got to the point where I even began to consider the question: “How shall I get this published?”

It was then that I did the research. Looked into the paths that lead to the treasure. And, long story short, it didn’t take long for me to decisively say: “Look out world. Mama fiction has pooped out a new indie author!”

So here it is. The reasons that I became an indie, versus the path of traditional publishing.

1. I have full control

That’s control of everything. Time, editing, deadlines, cover art. Everything you can think of is, and will stay, your baby. A piece of work plucked from your stem cells and psyche and delivered into the world exactly as you want it.

Now I know that’s not to everyone’s tastes. There are people out there who find that they lack the confidence in certain areas to see your writing as a business, and to be able to effectively control the process. Me? I had worked in publications 3 years previous to this, so had a fair handle on how to make the best of self-publishing and creating a quality product. For me it was a no-brainer.

I wanted control, not to wait months for a response from Penguin, only to find nothing come through my mailbox.

2. I’ll know my audience

I don’t mean on a real personal level here. I won’t know that Dave from accounting, who loves my stories of blood and gore, also busts 5 reps of 70kg squats on the bars every Monday night at 7. But I mean I’ll be closer to the people who read my work.

As an indie it’s incredibly important to build a rapport with your audience. To listen to them, interact on social media, keep them interested in you. Whereas traditional publishing manages your reputation through their marketing team, and mainly keeps their stats to themselves. Someone got a question for you? Email Dave from marketingwho will be able to guestimate an answer at some point after his squat sesh. (Completely different Dave. His reps start at 6:30).

3. Unlimited creative freedom

This was definitely a big factor for me. I’m an individual. I have my own tastes, my own flavours, my own ideas. Should I want to write these into a book and express that uniqueness that makes me… well… me, then I don’t need some outsider telling me that my idea won’t work. That it’s not ‘hot on the market’ or ‘sellable’.

I’m in this writing biz simply because I enjoy it. If I want to write a tale of a robo cop riding a unicorn and making out with Dave from accounting (Dave C, actually a relation of Dave from marketing) then I will dammit!

4. The effort is mine. The losses are mine.

Believe it or not, I’m not in this business to make money. Should dollar come along, of course I’ll be happy. But, for me, I like the challenge of starting from the bottom.

In 2014 I had nothing. Three half-written short stories and a headful of ideas. Now, 2 years later, I work alongside some incredibly talented writers, I have a best-selling novella to my name, as well as a successful short story podcast, and have written more stories than I can remember. That was all me. My endeavours, my labours, my pride. No one can take that from me.

Of course, should that have gone the other direction (as it could well do in the future), I’m the one taking the fall. Not the publishing giants and their red-faced sales people, hands praying to God, wondering why they chose me to represent over Dave from Fictioneers.

But I’m happy to take that risk.

Ultimately, if you’re a writer who doesn’t have a business-keen mind, and wants the validation from a named publisher, then traditional is for you.

Originally I had wanted this too, as I believed it to be the only way to go. But after 2 years of indie writing, my first full novel on the cusp of publication, and a novella and podcasts to my name, I’m pretty damn happy.

Ain’t no one been able to stop me and dull this knife.

Sort:  

Odds are you'll make money as your work will never go out of print, and your not giving away 15% to an agent. So there's that.

good post
full control is sure nice to have! lol after years and years of working under the control of someone else, however I guess ultimately we are under the control of the response from/needs of the market/our client :D

@doitvoluntarily you could definitely look at it that way :) In my latest project I'm more reliant on the market, but as long as I'm still doing it for me, and because I enjoy it, I still win :p

I fell into writing stories and never considered trying the traditional route. I self published my first book to have a copy on my bookshelf and never expected anyone else to buy it. A friend had set up a local indie publishing company to cover her own books and offered to take me on. i knew nothing of editing and what it takes to release a book so jumped at the chance. They take care of editing ( Only with my consent on changes) and formating while I write the stories I want to do. Making money isn't a driving force for my work, I just aim to break even. Anything else would be a bonus and I love being able to talk and interact with the people who buy my work, many of who become friends on social media. If you just love to write stories then going indie is a great way to go.

That's the ethos wrapped into a perfect paragraph. Keep pushing man

Great post. Thanks! Life outside the institution can be a very hard way to go as an artist (done that far too much), but I think the internet is pawing some new ways. Really interesting to see how thing develop.

And good luck to you, Kobur.

I like how you worded this lol The tinge of sarcasm gave me a laugh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44