Helios: 04 - I - Is This Who We Spoke About

in #writing8 years ago

<<Previous

http://spacewallpapers.org/wallpaper/two-cold-planets-and-ice-debris

Author's Note

Originally chapters involving this character were written in third-person as in the rest of the book; however, this was changed when a later chapter involving this character was switched to first-person. The reason for the change was an attempt to place the reader into the mind of the character and experience the character's emotions in that chapter.


 

CRDJEAF SMEWS/SAMCN Outpost Raegib

L4 Point, Kolbeci, Ejenworb

1137 VST, February 11, 2481

The  Class I planet Kolbeci reflected the light of its parent star Ejenworb  off its white frozen surface, tinting the black interior of the control  level of the Raegib with a soft bluish-white light. The Raegib  was a newly commissioned Taroom class orbital node designed to receive  data from remote sensors located on the edge of the Stagecoach sector of  the Empire, and transmit it to Spacecraft and Missile Early Warning  System networks located deeper in Empire space. In addition to its role  as a data concentrator, the Raegib also served as the command  center for both the Spacecraft and Missile Early Warning System and  Strategic Automated Military Command Networks located within the  Stagecoach sector.


I sat at my console looking at  several screens displaying current radar data from scans near the edge  of the sector. Small icons, each one representing a single contact,  dotted the screens between various planets and star systems. The  arrangement of contacts around trade routes made the screen look as if  it were displaying a scan of blood slowly flowing through veins. There  were a few icons that littered space between routes, but only a handful.  Each was colored according to its alignment with the Empire; blue for  neutral, green for friendly, yellow for unknown, and red for hostile.  Colors also varied depending on how close to one of the classifications a  contact was.


At the sector’s border with the Colmar  Federation, a small upstart nation, most traffic was either blue or  yellow. Although the Colmar Federation controlled only a few dozen star  systems, it presented a possible threat to the sector because of its  political alignment and the fact that the Stagecoach was both a frontier  sector and borderland. Frontier sectors had relatively few Federal  space groups patrolling them, with most border security provided by  local governments, noble houses, or other entities such as corporations.


As  I lifted my raspberry flavored tea to take a sip, the incursion alarm  of one of the displays sounded, its high-low beeping loud enough to draw  attention from only those within a several yard radius. I reached up  and tapped the screen, silencing the alarm and bringing up a radar sweep  of the area where the incursion was taking place. The yellow icon  indicated the contact was a large jumpcraft of unknown alignment, at  least as far as the mainframes filtering the radar data could determine.


“Traffic  scheduling, radar five, unknown contact inbound from Colmar.  Coordinates 03.84.21, 10.51.99, and 02.35.00. Mainframe says a large  jumpcraft, no name or registration number. No trailers yet. Confirm no  scheduled inbounds”, I said into my headset.


I had  always been told that I spoke with a heavy Norwegian accent, even though  I didn’t speak the language. Danish, ironically a language sounding  like a drunken Swede to those of Norwegian descent, was the closest  thing to Norwegian that I spoke. Even so, my native tongue was Imperial  American; a hodgepodge of American English, German, Danish, Hebrew,  Spanish and several other languages.


I was born in the  Aesir Sector on the planet Valhalla. The majority of Aesir’s population  was composed of people of Scandinavian descent. My home planet was also  home to the primary residence, palace, and estate of the current  Kaiserreich, or emperor. Most of the others on the Raegib were also from the Aesir Sector and spoke with the same accent as I.


On  the left shoulder of my black spacejumper was the military shield of  the Aesir Sector; blue lightning bolts drawn over a silver Mjollnir, set  on a blue background. The shield symbolized an ancient god of Norse  mythology, Thor, and his powers over the sky. It was no coincidence that  the majority of space groups within the Empire were commanded and  crewed by individuals from the Aesir Sector. After all it seemed a  natural progression from the 20th Century, a time when Scandinavians  were often involved in commercial shipping.


“Standby radar five, checking now”, scheduling responded after a brief pause.


Incursions  along the outer edges of borderlands were common, this was the fourth  time today some contact had wandered into space I was responsible for  monitoring. Even with the high-tech navigation systems and digital maps  on jumpcraft, navigating borderlands was risky business. Smaller  factions, pirate groups, and others made the problem worse because their  navigation databases were often less accurate.


Jumpcraft  themselves were large machines, often several miles in length, but  surprisingly agile under the control of a competent crew. They were most  oft used as interstellar ferries for dropcraft; small spacecraft  weighing less than 100,000 tons.


Moments later scheduling responded, “radar five, no scheduled inbounds for specified coordinates.”


“Roger scheduling.”


I  reached up to the display and tapped the yellow icon for the unknown  jumpcraft, then tapped the “hail” icon from the pop-up menu. I addressed  the jumpcraft, read off its coordinates then requested a response.  Waiting about 20 seconds for the response, I hailed the jumpcraft again  and received nothing but silence.


“Last chance,” I mumbled to myself before trying to hail the craft a third time.


I looked at the clock on my console. Almost two minutes passed since I first tried to contact the jumpcraft.
“Combat  control, radar five, I have an unknown inbound jumpcraft from Colmar”, I  said pressing several more menus on the display, “sending you contact’s  info now.”


“Roger radar five, we have the info and control.”


As  I handed the contact over to combat control, a blue X was placed over  its icon and its status changed to read “CBCT”. I paused for a moment,  trying to remember what I was doing before the incursion alarm. Unable  to remember, I gave each of my displays another look then picked up my  tea and took a sip.


I peered through the  semi-transparent displays, over dozens of other consoles, and out of the  enormous windows to look at the white planet below. Kolbeci was a Class  I planet, meaning it was composed mainly of ice. Its surface was  scarred by a network of cracks, each of which was thousands of miles  long and could be up to several miles deep.


There was  an extremely brief time in my preteen years when I wanted to be a  planetologist. However, I ended up as a sensor operator-controller, also  known as a scope dope, in the Republic Air Force. My first assignment  was in the Aesir Sector working in a ground-based SMEWS radar facility  and progressing to an airborne then spaceborne unit. Recently assigned  to the Raegib, I hadn’t yet bothered to read about Kolbeci or any of its moons.


Pulling  up Kolbeci’s data files, I looked over the planet’s vital statistics.  Almost 35,000 miles in diameter, two large and five small moons, and  composed of mostly deuterium locked in water and ammonia ices. Deuterium  fueled the multitudes of fusion reactors used in everything from large  construction machinery to massive space stations. Although the element  was common in space, it was rare to find it in concentrations high  enough to make recovering it economical. Ammonia was a fuel used in many  spacecraft around the galaxy, but was usually manufactured in areas  where it was not readily available from natural sources. Water was  always a valuable commodity, even though most places humans settled were  relatively earth-like with an adequate supply of it.


“A giant ball of money”, I said to myself as I read the stats.


There  were a number of mines on the planet, extracting the frozen water and  ammonia, and refining them into various compounds to be shipped  off-planet. Kolbeci also had several small Army and Air Force  installations, but nothing much to speak of.


I was  reading about one of the larger moons when I was interrupted by combat  control, “Radar five, combat control. Your unknown inbound had radio  problems, he’s headed back out of the sector as soon as his core  charges.”


“Roger combat, I have control of contact”, I responded.


The  X over the contact’s icon disappeared as soon as combat control  surrendered the jumpcraft. I reached up to the display and put the  contact on my monitor list so the mainframe would inform me of any major  changes in the jumpcraft’s status.


“Two hours into shift and already four strays,” I muttered, “it’s going to be a long day.”

 - - -


My magneboots thudded dully on the black  corridor floor as I walked. I had been ordered to report to the node's  commander once my shift was completed. I knew why the commander  requested my presence by the time I arrived at the door to his office.  Knocking on the door, I opened it after a voice from the other side told  me to enter.


"You requested my presence Scharmeister," I questioned as I stood at parade rest in front of the commander's desk.
The  commander, Scharmeister Anders Storstrand, was a large man with  chiseled features and a flattop hair style. A scar ran from above his  right eyebrow, down through his eye and cheek, and ended just above his  chin. I could tell his right eye had been severely damaged, possibly  even lost, due to whatever left the scar on his face. In its place was a  bioelectric eye that could pass as his natural one.


The  commander pushed a paper across his desk towards me, "Hauptmann Kirstin  Thorsdottir. Yes, you've got orders," he paused momentarily," and quite  frankly I can't wait to get you off my station."


I glanced at him with the best look of confusion I could muster as I picked up the paper.


"I  don't know where you really came from or where you're really going, but  I know what you are and what you've been up to while on my station," he  continued.


I looked up from the paper, "I'm from the Republic Air Force Scharmeister. I always have been, since the day I joined."


"No, you know exactly what I mean, you never even enlisted," he said as his eyes narrowed.
Realizing  arguing about the subject was pointless, I placed the paper back on his  desk, "Am I dismissed," I paused, "Scharmeister."


After  waiting almost a minute for a response from Anders, I excused myself  and left his office. As I made my way back to my room I went over  everything I had done while on the Raegib during the past year. I was sure that I hadn't done anything to clue anyone in on my real purpose for being on the station.


A  new message indicator flashed in my field-of-view. I imagined reaching  out and touching the indicator but didn't let my arm or fingers move to  do so.


The message opened and I read it as I walked. It  was from my home agency and informed me that a dropcraft would be  arriving in 12 hours to pick me up. This was a much faster departure  than the orders I had read in Anders’ office. According to those I would  be leaving in just over a month.


I stopped in front of  my door and glanced down the corridor both directions as I reached for  the door handle. The door’s internal bolt retracted with a clunk when my  hand made contact with the handle. The room’s bright white lights  switched on as I entered and tossed my dome helmet on the bed.


Sitting  down at my desk just under the room’s only window, I composed a message  and sent it off to my home agency. Normally I would use my palmtop  computer, but this message necessitated the use of my internal computer  for secrecy. I informed the agency of Anders’ suspicions and that I  would be handling the problem myself once the dropcraft arrived to pick  me up. I also sent a brief request detailing a very special item I would  need to ensure the issue was completely remedied. With just under 12  hours to tidy any loose ends up, I quickly got to work doing so.

 - - -


Another message indicator flashed in my view  an hour before the dropcraft was due to arrive, informing me that the  craft had entered the Eyenworb system. I responded with a brief about my  plans to handle the problem with Anders.


The dropcraft  arrived earlier than expected. I was just completeing a complete wipe  of the desktop computer in my room when I heard a knock at the door.


“Enter,” I said while reclining facing the window with my boots on the desk and hands crossed on my abdomen.


Two  men wearing flat black spacejumpers identical to the one I now wore  entered followed by a woman wearing one identical to what I had worn  during my time on the Raegib.


The taller man  spoke as the door closed and I turned around and stood, “I see you’re  back to your normal self, Reichsgräfin Synnove Rupertsen.”


“I am,” I responded walking over to the woman.


The  man was my uncle Reichsgräf Ulrich Odinwald, a physiologist and  aerospace surgeon. The shorter man, Reichsritter Farag Rais, was a very  experienced dropcraft pilot and commander.


“Is this who we spoke about?” I asked then looked at the woman with a friendly smile.


“Yes  Reichsgräfin. I am Hauptmann Kirstin Thorsdottir. It is an honor to  meet you,” the woman said, “but I’m just a little confused.”


The woman looked exactly like I had until several hours ago, even down to her mannerisms and tone.


“Don’t  let that worry you,” Ulrich responded as I turned and walked to the  vanity area, “this will be your room during your assignment here on Raegib.”


Farag approached me while Ulrich gently corralled the woman towards the desk, “Sit and enjoy the view. Relax, doctor’s orders.”


She  reluctantly sat and Ulrich glanced at me from the corner of his eye.  Farag handed me a laser pistol from the small black utility bag he  carried in his left hand, and sat the bag on the vanity.


I  picked up the pistol and brought it in-line with the woman’s head and  pulled the trigger. A bright violet laser flashed from the weapon,  killing the woman instantly and cleanly, leaving a small spot of melted  metal on the opposite wall.


“Not often that you get to  commit suicide,” I said as I tossed Ulrich the pistol and gathered the  other items from the utility bag.


“Nope,” Ulrich responded, tossing the pistol onto the floor next to the lifeless woman, “Let’s get going.”
I  took my pistol from the bag, looking at it momentarily before  holstering it. The weapon was larger than most pistols and was also of a  large calibur.


We casually left the room and proceeded  to the waiting dropcraft. Few people paid any attention to us as we  walked, and that was exactly how we preferred it. Although we were  recognized by several people, none of them made a terribly big deal of  it. It wasn’t uncommon for nobility to make unannounced appearances on  military spacecraft and leave as quietly as they appeared.


It had been a year, give or take a few months, since I had last seen my dropcraft, the Dragonfly.  I smiled as we walked into the hangar where it waited, its flat black  and well-kept aerofoil shape consuming almost the entire hangar.
There  were few markings on the craft, and what it did have were applied in a  flat gray so dark they could barely be distinguished from the  surrounding black. Painted on the vertical stabilizer was the saltire  raguly of the Bandera Imperial which symbolized a noble currently under  federal service. Near the nose of the craft, the military seal of the  Aesir Sector was painted just forward of my family’s arms.


My  family's arms consisted of a sable lion rampant set on a field of azure  with twelve billets argent. However, because the arms on the dropcraft  were painted in monochrome the name of my family's house was written  under the arms to avoid mistaking them for arms of another house.


Walking up the spindly looking stairs, I entered the main level of the dropcraft. Although the Dragonfly  was based on a design used for cargo, the Alaska class, the main level  wasn’t left empty like in most cargo craft. Racks of electronic  equipment filled the forward section of the level, while several light  vehicles and aircraft occupied the rear.
My arrival on the control level was met by the Dragonfly’s  flight captain, Reichsritter Franz von Sickingen. The level was  illuminated red by general illumination lights and the gentle glows of  equipment displays and indicators. An occasional green hue was cast from  other display panels such as the ones used by the craft’s pilots.


“Welcome back, Reichsgräfin,” Franz said as he respectfully nodded, “the Dragonfly  has spent the past six months at the Wilhelm Sigismund Orbital Yards.  I’ll brief you on the refit it received once we get underway.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43