Why Do You Write Your Stupid Story

in #writing6 years ago

 Slogging Through the Summer Slump

“Why do you have to write your stupid story, Mom?”

My child asked me this question in the car yesterday as we left the grocery store parking lot.  I didn’t take the stupid bit personally.  After all, my children aren’t allowed to read my story so I don’t think they’re qualified to judge its quality.

I think the sentiment behind the comment has more to do with a frustration that Mom spends so much time on the computer these days.  A sentiment we all share.  And that’s something that keeps a constant hum of guilt in my mind all the time.  Summer break amplifies that hum to a roar.

As I wrangle with the excruciating task of editing, the kids want adventure.  More adventure than can be found in our own back yard.  And food, constant food.  I struggle to keep my head in my story while they argue over one of thousands of Legos.  I find my patience waning and my temper shortening till my responses to their constant needs get snappy.   The guilt grows unbearable and I finally give up and push the story aside for several days in a row (or a week).

I have no idea how parents of young children have ever finished a book in the history of mankind.

When I return to the story after however many days I have spent appeasing my guilt and giving in to all the distraction, I feel as though I lose an entire working session figuring out where I was headed when I pushed the story aside.  Knowing this, it often becomes easier to just go another day without writing, and then another, and so on…and this project remains neglected.  Cue more guilt.

I’m sure none of this is conducive to creativity.  It certainly hasn’t been for mine.  My new draft languishes at nearly 50,000 words as summer heats up and pool maintenance joins the ranks of attention demanding distractions.  (Confession:  I actually really enjoy pool maintenance.  It’s a sanity-saving endeavor for me, like gardening, or meditating.)

Just like the pool, balance is key.  I know this, of course.  But, a month into summer break and I still haven’t found that balance.  Maybe I won’t all summer and maybe the answer is finding peace with that.  Because this story will get finished.  I’m not giving up yet.

When the question spilled out of my child in the car, I considered letting it go unanswered.  I could just turn the volume up on the stereo and silently sulk in my guilt.  It seemed much easier than explaining why I write to anyone, let alone my kids.  But, in the end, I settled on a simple and honest response.

“Maybe it is stupid, but when you have a dream, you have to do it.” 

Sort:  

YES, you have to do it. Your child made that comment because your child is just jealous of your time. I know it is hard but try to find balance.

You should feel Great you're living your dream...
It always looks stupid at the start.

Edison trying to invent he bulb, ford trying a gasoline engine, zuckerberg making a face collage....

The end justifies the stupidity, keep at it.

That you didn't shut the kid up shows you're humane.

Kudos

If your writing 'proper' stories, then you should do OK on here, just don't expect too much. Most people give up because 'nobody looks', but you have to keep at it to gain an audience.

I heard someone once say that wiritng is a lonely job! I cannot agree any more.

So when you are a mother, with those very - and rightly by the way- demanding little ones, the challenge, if you are a writer, is to balance between scribbling way those lines and attending to them.

And that is not easy. I personally write, and i know how very little can be accomplished with distractions here and there. But a the end of the day, well....questions such as: Why Do You Write Your Stupid Story? have to be answered!

This is a conventional problem for most mothers. I find this to be a very original and relevant piece of work, so I am going to feature it in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #30. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.


Congratulations, and best wishes.

Thank you so much!

You are welcome. I love your experience here.

Otherwise the post in which you are featured is out mow. If you find some time, check it out here.

https://steemit.com/mirrors/@mirrors/xposed-curator-s-rebound-30

Congratulations again. Hope it brings you some exposure and rewards. At any rate, enjoy your writing passion, except keep in mind those pumpkins!

Congratulations @katieaguilera! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58