A Strange Encounter in Nowhere, Japan: An Almost Speechless Stranger, Shadows, and Snow.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

0591BEF3-90DC-44C7-8E7A-9553A23C2AAE.jpeg


So I Picked Up a Hooker this Morning.

No. It’s not what it sounds like, but it’s true. This story gets kind of heavy, but I think it should be relayed, nonetheless. I’m not sure exactly why, but I caught a glimpse of the shadow side of things, and I think it’s important to remember that certain things are going on all around us, right here and now, that aren’t so great. And there’s a dark side, a hell, that some people are surviving. And that compassion—and discretion—are both important.


I was on the way over to our new place this morning to unload some boxes, and had stopped at McDonald’s to get a hot coffee and a breakfast sandwich to power up for our big day of moving.

As I pulled out of the parking lot, I saw a rather tired looking woman crossing the street in the cold rain. She had no umbrella, and I felt bad for her, but figured she was probably just walking across the street to get to work. I thought no more of it, turned on my podcast, and pulled up to the red light, ready to settle in to a nice sandwich, some hot coffee and some anarchist audio.

knock knock knock

The woman was at my passenger side door, knocking on the window. Oh. I thought. This is weird. Japanese people almost never do things like this. Someone could be driving a car in Antarctica, and a stranded Japanese person would probably still never have the nerve to ask for a ride.

I assumed this lady was pretty desperate, and she said she needed to go just down the road into town. I moved a box from the passenger seat to the back and let her in. She made no mention of all the boxes and didn’t say “I’m so sorry for the inconvenience,” or anything like that. We drove off.

I immediately realized that she couldn’t speak English or Japanese very well at all (in fact, it would be no exaggeration to say she only knew a handful of words). I asked her where she was going. I told her I would drop her off where she said she had wanted to go, but then the story changed (or so it seemed to me). She told me wanted to go further down the road, and that she wanted to go as far possible—as far as I was going.

By this point I only understood that she couldn’t speak English or Japanese, was in some sort of trouble, and had some kind of issue with a child and breastfeeding. Yes, it got confusing fast. I look longingly at my breakfast sandwich sitting on the dash. My hot coffee I had wanted to sip in silence cooling down now like a slow clock. Oh well, Graham, this person needs some help. Just deal with it.

She told me something was a “secret” making the zipper gesture across her lips with her index finger. She kept saying “mama, mama,” and I came to understand that she was a prostitute here in Japan. It seems she had a child who needed to be nursed and/or that her breastmilk kept coming out, and this made her “clients” angry and abusive. Something like that, or so I guessed. Her eyes welled up with tears. I asked in Japanese if she was running away. She nodded. I wondered if she did have children, where they were and if they were okay.

We pulled into the parking lot of a convenience store. I couldn’t go farther without ending up at my destination, which I, of course, I didn’t want her to know.

I asked if she needed help. If I could help her somehow. I asked if her kids were okay. When I suggested that maybe the police could help her in her situation (not something I necessarily believed 100%, but being that she could speak neither Japanese or English I didn’t know what to do) she said, emphatically:

“No, no, no. Police,” wagging her finger in rhythm with the next three words:

“Sex sex sex. Police. Sex sex sex.”

What the fuck. I was not really surprised by this knowing what I know about certain “connected cops,” higher up, and how corrupt police are/can be in general, but I was dumbfounded. What the fuck should I do for this lady? Are her kids okay? Wait a minute. What am I doing. Don’t try to be the mega saint, man. Remember, Graham, it’s not your responsibility.

My coffee’s getting colder. I can see now I won’t be able to enjoy it alone, in the comfort of my warm car, so I reluctantly take one begrudging sip, just so I don’t totally miss out on the heat.

I tried to get more info from my companion, but it became useless. She appeared now, due to newly emerging erratic behaviors, to be delving into fits of schizophrenia—or to be on drugs, or both—breaking away from our conversation multiple times to talk to people not present in the car, and making very disturbing faces. Her expressions were strange mixtures of pain, sadness, and wild, screwed-up rage. She would cringe with one eye closed, the other wild with a kind of hateful fear, and jerk her head back, shaking, as the veins in her neck became taut and pronounced. I wondered for a second if she would lash out violently. I wasn’t afraid of her, but of what she might try to do—or steal—especially while I was driving.

Intermittent verbal ejaculations accompanied this strange facial contortions.
“Stop! stop! stop! No. no.” Then suddenly, immediately calm and almost hopeful: “Okay.”

I wondered if she had some form of PTSD.

Finally, when I told her I could take her no further, was not interested in having sex (which she had hinted at after I gave her some money to help) and had to get going, she said “No, no, no” and told me she had a car in a nearby town. Coffee is getting cooler still. Sinuses acting up now and there’s a nasty taste in my mouth.

“Okay,” I said becoming at once both exasperated and resolute, “I’ll take you to your car.” We pulled out of the parking lot, and I checked my phone’s GPS to find the quickest route.

I had given her 50 dollars to help her out, and figured that and taking her to her car was the best I could do. As I pulled out my phone to use the GPS, she pointed at it and said “No, no, no” again. Her voice was becoming panicky. This continued and she repeated “No no no” whilst pointing at the phone two or three more times. Holy shit man. She’s really fucked up. Something’s not right here. Becoming frustrated, I eventually had to pull into another convenience store parking lot.

My voice was becoming louder and less polite now: Where do you want to go? I have to go. Lots of things to do.

“No no no. No no no.”

Can I take you into the city?

“Okay. City. Yes.”

As we began driving the other way, I decided to eat my breakfast sandwich. Drink the coffee. My selfish little time is not happening today. At least, not right now. Far from my new house, another half hour at least to add to the already extended journey with a car full of boxes, and my nameless passenger now is quiet with her face in her hands. I assess the situation.

Okay. So I think maybe this woman has told me she’s being abused, and that there are pimps all across the city, and that they all have territory. She knows mechanics here in the country who are somehow connected with all this. Cops don’t help. Just demand sex. She’s been around the world several times and has many children all over. She seems to be from Thailand. When I asked about her native tongue she said she has none. What the fuck. Is she being used by these underground (and above ground) “connected” scum as a trafficked prostitute? What about these kids of hers?

As all this shit is running through my mind, I look over. She’s got two different packs of cigarettes in her bag. One a pack of Winstons, and the other Marlboro menthols. She opens one of them revealing what appear to be normal cigarettes. I breathe an internal sigh of relief. I’m waiting to see what else she has. The next pack contains something I don’t recognize, but can see is definitely not a Winston cigarette. I decide my time trying to help is over. She’s gotta get the fuck out. Drug charges in Japan are serious and I don’t need that shit—whatever it is—in my car. Come to think of it, her behavior almost resembles someone on meth, at times, as far as I can guess, with the weird verbal ejaculations, the paranoia, and strange body movements.

E7E57F64-DC83-4BD3-AA05-176A92CA7DA6.jpeg

I decide against driving all the way to the city, stop at the nearest train station, and tell her she needs to please get out, and I have to go. I explain that the train will take her into the city, where she can then take a train to her car. She’s told me already that she knows the city. She intimates she doesn’t know the station. I point to the 50 dollar bill lying on the dash, and then point to the train station, and back in the direction of the city saying:

“Money. Train. City. That way. It’s that way. I’m sorry.”

“No no no.”

“Yes. You have to get out. I’m sorry”

“Wait. ちょっと待って。Wait.”

“待ってない。No. I have to go. You have to get out. I have tried to help you. You must get out.”

“No. No. No. No. No.”

I yell.

“GET OUT!! NOW!!!!”

She gestures to her left breast suddenly, and then to her stomach and says “ouch, ouch” in Japanese. God damnit. Maybe I should have taken her to a hospital. I couldn’t think clearly, and didn’t know what this woman would do next. Here I am, an American, a foreigner in Japan, arguing with a hooker who’s likely packing some sort of contraband in her bag, in the parking lot of an obscure, out of the way, tiny train station in the country. Too much attention drawn here and I doubt the police are gonna believe this bearded American dude was was “just trying to help” this prostitute he’s screaming at in his car. Who knows. Either way, fuck this, I think. I gotta get out of this situation.

“You have to get out.”

She says “no no no.”

“This is my car. I am telling you to get out! I’ve tried to take you 3 different places! I have to go!”

“No no no”

“Get out!”

I tell her that l am not a big fan of police either, but I will if she won’t get out of my car. Then, I think twice. From what she said it sounds like they know her already and she won’t get much help from them anyway. She may even get hurt. I don’t know what to believe. Look, you don’t know this lady’s real story. Your involvement was just to help her by giving her a ride. You’ve helped. You don’t need to tangle yourself in the details of whatever mess she may or may not be in.

I open my door, and walk around to her side to demand she step out. Before I can reach her, though, she moves on her own volition, and opens the door, stepping out of the car. She gathers her things—a purse, some other object I can’t remember, and a plastic bag full of empty plastic bottles. She takes a discarded coffee can with a screw-on cap I had tossed onto the floor. What she needs that for, I have no idea. She closes her door. I roll up the window.

I almost lock my doors, but don’t, as I don’t think she’s a threat, and don’t want to insult her. I don’t make eye contact anymore. She’s left the 50 on the dash. She said: “no no no.” She does a seeming slight bow. I don’t look. I just drive away, the motor winding up as I gain speed. What just happened?

2721AFA2-135B-49E5-B2C4-2F4BA7830A0E.jpeg


I don’t know what happened. Or where the hell that lady is. I kept thinking about her today. On and off. All day. Where is she? Is she okay? Should I have taken her to the police station? To the hospital? But I was just giving her a ride. What do I know?

She had told me that Japanese men were cruel and rough. Especially cruel to women compared to men in other countries. It wasn’t hard to believe, especially imagining the types of men she must deal with here. She had told me that she had a daughter somewhere, or...daughters? I’m not sure. And had to leave them behind because of fighting in the home with...someone. I’m left with all these ghosts of feelings. And not understanding anything clearly. As I drive around today, I keep half expecting to see her waking down the road. Like some sort of specter that intensely entered my life for a half hour on a random, snowy February day, and disappeared just as quickly. Somewhere in her eyes there was a really bright being, and awareness, though distorted now with pain and dulled by abuse. God knows what else. I could see it, though, when I looked at her.

Some people’s pain makes my perceived big “problems” in life seem like laughing matters. I think I did the right thing today, but I’m not sure. Maybe she was picked up at the station by cops. Maybe not.

Either way, I hope she’s okay, wherever she is.

What a weird first day, moving to a new place.


~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Wow that is messed up I feel for her and for you getting into that messed up situation. In general it's hard to help people if the local enforcement is corrupted. If its a Yakuza owned women then it could be a trafficked person as you presumed.
Honestly do not know what the best choice was in life there are choices and sometimes helping someone off that path is a lot more than you can do all you can say is you tried your best in that frame of time.

From what she said, yes, she seemed to be being passed around by Yakuza. Right, when even (especially) the “peace officers” are feared by these people, where is there, really, to go?

Thanks for your thoughtful commment.

Hmmm you are so right that we don’t know the “hells” people right around us may be living in. It usually scares me to be around people on hard drugs like that. I think you did the best you could and tried to understand and to help. It sounds like it wasn’t clear what she needed and that given that, you can only help so far. It is more than most would do. to try. At least she got those short moments with you in the safety of your car where she wasn’t on the streets confronting whatever it is...

As for the ghost feelings afterward- it sounds like she was followed by many demons, haunted herself .. and you picked up on that. I find that, too, when I’m around people with erratic energy or they’re using drugs or have had horrible life circumstances, that unsettledness. It will pass and perhaps next time u will be a little more prepared, in some way, if another person crosses your path...

I love this reply. Thanks for this.

Wow very interesting story about the women and you. Yes friend sometimes we feel very sincere about the pain of others,but some times this helping behavior may become dangerous for us to. So please be careful when dealing with strangers. I know you are a kindhearted person, you had done great job by helping the women but, be careful and alert. Thanks for sharing such a valuable post, have a great day friend.

Thanks, @maya7. Yes, you’re right about the importance of being careful and alert. Thank you, and will do.

What you did was reach out to someone who asked for help, it sounds like she is a very troubled soul who needs alot more than what you could offer her anyway.
The way she was talking makes it very difficult to know if she is speaking about the present or the past, or even her own life.
It sure was a glimpse into the dark side of life, that we can easily pretend is not there. But you have your path with your family and do not really have the means to help someone like her, especially if you risk being arrested. You reached out to her when many wouldn't have.

That shows me the type of person you are, it's just shit that society/system allows this to happen to some people and they end up slipping between the cracks.

Oh my what a story @kafkanarchy ...I felt like I was reliving it with you! Scratch the surface & there are all sorts of damaged people carrying their trauma around. We live on a world of tears, as they say.

Definitely man.

This story has a touch of Murakami (of the Haruki variety) about it... the usual routine of everyday life in Japan suddenly interrupted in an unexpected way, and then everything goes back to normal again.

I recall an experience when walking through the streets of Tokyo at night (unfortunately too close to the red light districts) and seeing a woman screaming and bursting out from nowhere, and then seconds later a man comes running after her. Everyone stares and follows the pursuit until they disappear from sight, and I pick up a small metal object in the shape of a tiny birdcage with an even smaller bird inside.

And as sudden as the whole incident took place, the people went back to what they were doing before it all started, but I couldn't help but wonder what happened to the woman and why she had in possession this curious object.

Was thinking about Murakami all day today as this was happening, and as I was writing this.

That story about the girl...wow man. Really Murakami-esque. Just the way you told it here in the comments too really sucked me in. What a mysterious little episode to witness.

I was tempted to say that it is Kafkaesque, although I am not sure it would be the right use of the word :D

I want to read her story now.
About the strange gaijin who picked her up in a car full of boxes; couldn't settle on a location and tried to pay without touching her.

I’d love to read that too!

Wow, not sure how I would have done in this situation. you probably did right, at least as much as you could and maybe should.

Thanks man. I really appreciate that.

Holy moly.. That must have been a scary situation, man.

Also this is exactly why a lot of people are reluctant to offer help to strangers. You might get in trouble yourself. Is that worth it?

Well. That’s a very good question.

いくつかの箇所で笑わせていただきました。面白い出来事ですね。

“Wait. ちょっと待って。Wait.”
“待ってない。No. I have to go. You have to get out. I have tried to help you. You must get out.”

ここを強調したいから、日本語が混ざっているのかと思いました。

そう言う事でしたよ!(笑)
あの人は英語も日本語も分からなかったのでどっちも使った方がいいと思っていました!^_^

あはは(笑)まるでフィクションのような本当の話ですね。その場にいたかったです。

So you couldn't determine her country of origin by hearing the accent of her English or Japanese?

No. She barely spoke. I was guessing she was from the Philippines or Thailand. In broken English she told me she had been around the world several times working as a prostitute. Maybe even since she was very young. She said she had no native tongue. That’s why I wondered if she was one of those “nameless,” trafficked women used by sex rings around the world by various organizations, both underground and above, like the cops, gangsters, etc.

That would make the part of the story about a child quite difficult if she has been around the world with someone else that she also has to look after. Sadly human trafficking is a big issue (even Australia is not immune from it).

I once helped a woman who appeared homeless and was pregnant at the time asking for money by taking her to the supermarket and buying some food (instead of potentially chipping in for the cigarette she was smoking at the time!), but then you see them back at the same spot asking for money the next day and you have to wonder whether it is possible to help people like that, or if they have to get themselves out of the situation because it is a very vicious cycle. For anyone interested the 'Struggle Street' documentary made in Australia reveals a lot of the issues that disadvantaged people are up again. This is why I am so passionate about education because I think it is the first step towards equality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22